Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this in a little bitty 2 quart crock pot and upped the recipe a bit so that the crock pot would be a little over half full because the crock pot instructions say not to cook less than half a crock of food. I could imagine having problems making this recipe in a normal sized crock pot without scaling it up substantially! As it was, my oatmeal was done after 3 hours even though I cooked it on low. So it was a flop as far as that goes, but the result... The oatmeal was so creamy and delicious, even though I used milk instead of half and half and cinnamon sugar instead of brown! It was honestly the first bowl of oatmeal that I've truly enjoyed. The leftovers reheat well too. I'm going to try making it with ice cubes instead of water to see if that will slow down the cooking process enough that it will actually take the entire night to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This was really easy! You HAVE to have your crockpot at least 2/3 full, otherwise it will burn and dry out. So I tripled the recipe, and it served 6 people comfortably. People really liked this! It was REALLY creamy, and I used old-fashioned oats. Next time I'll try steel cut to add some texture. This is a great breakfast to prepare if people are getting up at all different times in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
great for steel cut oats, only cook for 6 hrs on low---use timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Stars for being good, brief and helpful. I tried this with hulled barley, and had an excellent result, as well. A cup and a half of hulled barley, a sliced up apple, a handful of raisins, a bit of butter, and four cups of water. Cooked on low. In the morning we stirred it up to mix the goodies, served with a bit of milk and sugar, as desired. Very tasty and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I added apples and cinnemon/sugar too so it was ready to eat in the morning. Yummy! Almost like pudding! I could see putting it on top of ice cream even!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Hi, I just finished eating this oatmeal for brekfast. It was very creamy and delicious. This is what I did. I used one cup of oatmeal, two cups of water and a half cup of milk. As well I threw in 1/4 cup of raisins and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I started it on warm and went to bed around eleven. Halfway threw the night I checked on it and found it was sticking to the sides so I added another cup and a half of water turned it to high and went back to bed. Around seven I turned it to off and stirred it a little then went back to bbed till nine. My husband and I both thought it was very creamy and I love waking up to our usual Sunday breakfast already cooked. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Delicious! Perfect. After reading all the reviews -- and not having any steel cut oatmeal on hand, just regular old fashioned Quaker Oats -- I made a heavenly breakfast in my 3-qt slow cooker. The key was the 3:1 ratio of liquid to oats. I used 4 cups water and 2 cups milk to 2 cups oats. I added a cut-up Granny Smith apple, pinch of salt, and 1 t. real vanilla. Cooked on low all night (approx. 8 hrs) and am enjoying it now with nothing but brown sugar added. I'll be cooking oatmeal this way from now on. No sticky cooker, by the way -- I sprayed with oil first and it rinsed out in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toby Speed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This just did not come out the way I was hoping. It was pretty gluey and not tasty at all. Not even after adding the brown sugar (EXTRA brown sugar) and cream. I think I'll stick to cooking it on the stove from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This isn't what I thought I guess. I used Bob's Red Mill Gluten-Free Oatmeal and 3.5cups of water in a 1.5lt crock overnight on low. Still had a soupy consistancy after 9 hours. Nothing I could add cream too since it would have been way too liquidy. My 7 y.o picky eater liked it with butter and brown sugar added, my husband just liked having a hot bfast ready for him at 6am so he ate it without issue. My 5y.o wouldn't touch it. Taste was fine but consistnacy was ??? I'll need to tweak this more because a different recipe wouldn't make sense since its just water and oatmeal overnight. Less water at the beginning I would think if using the g/f oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States