Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this and added the extra cup of water as the one reviewer said and it was terrible. Too over cooked and too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Family loved it . followed advise from reviews - used smaller crock pot so that it was full. 3:1 ratio (4 cups water, 2 Cups milk & 2 cups oats), sprayed pot and added about 2 TBSP butter, 2 small apples chooped, apple pie spice, cinnamon & brown sugar to pot. Cooked on warm for almost 10 hours. Very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waialua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jayashiangel
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I used steel cut oats and cooked for 3 hours. Nice and creamy...Will be making this recipe again with extras like apples and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was GREAT!! I have busy mornings with soccer on Saturdays so this was great! I put in steel cut oats (1c) and multi grain oats (1c) and old fashioned oats (1/2 c). with 8 cups of water. I also added 2 or 3 diced apples and cinnamon. I added 2 tbs of butter and I also sprayed the crockpot with Pam....no problems sticking at all. I will definatley make this again! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe but everything stuck so much that I didn't think it was worth it... It tasted fine, but was a hassle to clean up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My oatmeal turned out AWESOME! I do have to point out that the recipe really works best with steel cut oats and a crock pot that has a "warm" setting. Even low is too hot and causes the crusted on mess. I also advise using a crock pot liner, I always use on whenever I fire up the slow cooker, I hate scrubbing it! I omitted the salt, and used skim milk and added brown sugar/fruit/add ins after it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I really didn't care for this recipe. I was so excited to find one that you make the night before and wake up to a healthy, flavorful breakfast, however, I didn't find that with this recipe. Yes, it is definitely creamy, even two days later, but the flavor was lacking. I found it very bland and too creamy. The texture of the oats is completely lost in the slow cooking process. I think I could have gotten past the texture if it had more flavor. Even after adding what I consider a lot of brown sugar, it was still lacking. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
It didn't burn, that was the first thing I looked for when I came downstairs to have my oatmeal soI thought GREAT! I did put Pam on the 1 quart cooker. I used 2 cups water, 1 c milk, pinch salt and 1/2 apple~~no brown sugar. It was too gummy. I did use regular oatmeal not steel cut oats; however the original recipe doesn't specify steel cut oats either. I won't be making this one again. The concept is great as who wouldn't want to come out to the kitchen and have breakfast all ready. Anyone know of a non-mush way to do this? I consider the "creamy" term "gummy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missz174
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Great taste and super creamy. The basics of this recipe are good but the execution needed lots of adjustment based on your individual crock pot. I used 1 c. steel cut oats, 4 cups water, 1 c. cream. Sprayed my crock pot with Pam and poured the 3 ingredients in, gave it a stir, set it on low, and let it cook for 4 hours. I checked it at 4 hours and to my surprise, it was done. Thick and creamy. A little stuck to the sides but not too much. I turned off the pot and let it sit over night. Super thick and creamy and all that was stuck on the sides had come off. Just added some milk and put in the microwave for a minute then add your toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States