Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This is a nice easy recipe good for busy mornings. I bought one of the new crockpots about a year ago. It tends to run hotter than I'd like, so I cook this recipe on the warm (not low) setting. When I tried it on low, it came out too mushy. If you like your oatmeal on the thick side, try using only 2 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
mine burned overnight, i d add a pinch more water, i also used steel cut oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I followed the previous reviewer (emmy) and made it in a pan the night before. I omit the salt, and added the milk- instead of cream- and sugar in the morning. It is delicious every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I'll have to try again. I used my mini crock pot as suggested and added raisins - again as suggested by another reviewer. What a mess! Turned purple and tasted like raisin mush. I must have not had the proportions of liquid to oatmeal correct either. The sugar cooked out of the raisins and formed a crust, a purple crust, on top. Was rather bizarre. I will try again though because I do enjoy a hot bowl of oatmeal on a cold morning but don't want to wait for it to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Well, it WAS creamy. My husband frequently has to be at work at 6 am, after I've had to work until 10pm the night before, so we liked the idea of using the crock pot. Although after reading so many problems concerning the crock pots, we decided you all were using pots that are too large. We cooked ours in a 1-1/2 qt. crock pot, following the recipe. We weren't happy with the texture. Maybe next time, we'll use a little less water overnight, then add a little more cream in the morning. We really like the idea of it so we're not going to give up on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamashari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I loved this easy oatmeal recipe! It tastes so much better than the usual way. I used gluten free oatmeal, and had no problems with sticking. Love it topped with fresh fruit! I think next time I'll use a little less water and add some vanilla, and another time cinnamon and apple! Thanks for this yummy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Maybe my low is just not low enough. It developed a really thick crust. Can't beat microwaving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This oatmeal recipe was delicious! I used steel cut oats and it turned out very good. I also doubled the recipe and it served seven people with a little bit left over. Thanks for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I used a liner, and added fresh cut strawberries. I didn't need the salt. It was the most delicious oatmeal recipe I have ever eaten!! Thank you so very much for making my mornings brighter. Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
love this and it is great reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States