Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
very good i used 1/2 cup of half and half. very creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Ok so i read all the reviews before making this and really wasn't actually convinced it would turn out ok but hubby was away and the kids wanted oatmeal!! Wow it was fabulous!!! super super easy and turned out great, i made a few adjustments as recommended and cooked it in a large (ish) slow cooker that was at least 2/3's full. I used 1 cup or old fashioned oats 2 cups water 2 cups milk (2%) 2 tbsp butter 1 tbsp cinnammon I sprayed with butter first, popped everything into the slow cooker and left overnight, I cooked on low for 4 1/2 hrs and then my cooker automatically switched to warm until we got up the mext morning. I gave it a quick stir and added 2 tbsp of sugar and 1 more cup of oats, mixed it all up and the kids loved it! I had no problems with anything sticking to the sides or bottom :) I will definately be making this again, i think i'll either reduce the liquids a little or add more oats at the start to get the perfect consistancy (but adding an extra cup of oats in the morning was really no problem).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
To those of you who are going to try the recipe - please be aware that time and consistency a great deal depends on the temperature that YOUR slow cooker is working at on different settings. I sprayed the inside of my non-programmable 4 QT slow cooker with olive oil, and put in 2 cups of old-fashioned oatmeal and 8 cups of water. Dropped in little piece of butter, set my slow cooker on "Keep warm" setting and went to bed about 11 PM. I woke up at 6 AM, checked the slow cooker, and was not happy with the consistency - it seemed watery. I stirred the oatmeal, and I switched the setting to "High". After 1 hour on high setting I stir in some low-fat milk. The oatmeal that you get will be very soft and creamy - but I like it that way. I put only three stars, because there should be a note in the recipe itself that you need to try the recipe a couple of times to do it right. I would think that those with programmable slow cookers could set it on 3 hours high, or 5 hours low, and then it would switch to the warm setting automatically. My slow cooker is not programmable, and I can either have it on HIGH for, say, 1.5 hours in the evening and then switch it to "Keep warm", or try longer cooking time - not 7 hours, but 10 on "Keep warm" setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I cook this on "WARM" not LOW. Low burns it in my cooker. Variation: no sugar or salt add peanut butter last half hour of cooking, and turn to "LOW". Also, It's real good with evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Way too much liquid! it was so soupy and mushy. I thought it seemed like a lot (especially since the back of the oatmeal container called for less than HALF the amount of water the recipe called for). I only put in 2cups of water and it was still a soupy mess. It tasted great, and i will make it again, but with MUCH LESS WATER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Because Oat meal cooks so fast I did not make it with oat meal. Red river cearel needs a long slow cook. And this methed of cooking is great for it. And I also add a little more water. And some spices like cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
It's so easy! I'm not a morning person, so I love a breakfast recipe that I can do the night before. It's a great base recipe -- you can add whatever you like. I added cinamon, turbinado and raisins. It does stick around the edge of the crock pot. Since my inside comes out for washing that's not a deal breaker for me. I suppose you could grease the side a little bit if it's a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCOFFELT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Just as stated, it is quick, easy and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIE811

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made the recipe as is and it is a win win! Breakfast is ready when we get up, everyone can add their favorites, whether that is fruit, more brown sugar or syrup and clean-up is easy. Loved the thick and creamy results. I used Steel Cut Oates, better for healthier eating. Also sprayed the crock with no-stick spray for easier clean-up. i have made it other times with 1c. heavy cream instead of 1/2 & 1/2 but can not say it was any better. Thank you to KARENSFIXINS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
The first time I tried to make this, it turned into a gooey, gummy mess. Then I realized I have one of the new crockpots which in my opinion cook way to hot and ruin food. So the next night, I tried again and set the crockpot to the warm setting. Perfect! Very handy for busy mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States