Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was pretty good oatmeal. I set it on high for 3 hrs, it had a crust on the top but once I stirred it around it softened. Thanks for a yummy and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I used fat free half & half and that could be partly the reason that my oatmeal had little flavor and a soggy texture, like it wasn't really cooked. I put my slow cooker on warm all night as suggested. I'm going to try this again on the low setting next time just because the oatmeal was expensive and hard to find. I don't want to waste it. I am really disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Here's my secret to this recipe: Use a small dip size crockpot (about one quart), and keep on "warm" setting overnight - I was lucky enough to find a crockpot that small with that setting - it works just great; no sticky, overcooked oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Awful, awful, awful. My kids love oatmeal, so I was very excited when I found this recipe. Anything to make hectic morning less hectic, right? I was very disappointed this morning when I lifted the lid of my slow cooker, only to find half of the oatmeal crusted onto the sides & bottom, and the other half a soupy mess. My son looked in and said, "Mommy, where are the oats?" I'll stick to making oatmeal the regular way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
you're right when you say this is the way oatmeal is suppose to be! I love it! I even love the sticky parts. My moms always used to stick to her pots when she made oatmeal and it was my favorite part! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I boiled the water added the dry steel cut oats and covered with lid.Wait 4 minutes then I turned off the stove and went to bed. In the morning the oatmeal is ready to be quickly heated (add the cream and sugar at that time) this is easy for those who don't have a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
464 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I probably did this wrong though I followed the recipe exactly, because I ended up with a load of crusty...stuff stuck to the side of my slow cooker and mass of gelatinous goop under it all. I may try it again, but not for eight hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
The end product is excellent, but the losses from sticking to the side need to be addressed. You end up with 3 cups of usable oatmeal and about a cup of stuff stuck to the sides anbd bottom of your slow cooker. I went with 3 1/2 cups of water to see if that helps, and it still wasn't enough to prevent the sticky stuff on the sides. I have been told by someone else to try this with 4 cups and a cup of low-fat milk. That's a lot of moisture, and if it turns out to be the solutuon, the original recipe at 3 cups is way off. For taste and texture this recipe is tops, and I will keep using it and trying to fix the sticking problem. The end product is really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris McCoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This was fantastic! I threw the oats and water into the slow cooker when I got up on Christmas morning, and cooked them on high for 3 hours, until everyone arrived. Then I added the salt and cream, stirred, and served. I let everyone add the amount of brown sugar or fruit that they wanted. This was hearty and thick, and so creamy! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I was excited about this, but it didn't turn out the way I thought it would. It was edible, but not something I would do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States