Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I should have heeded previous reviewers' advice and not attempted this, but it's so tempting to have piping hot non-instant oatmeal ready for you first thing in the morning. I tried. No luck. It's just as many other reviewers stated. A gluey gloppy mess, accompanied by crusty stuck to the side *burnt* oatmeal (and I sprayed the heck out of the crock pot w/PAM before I loaded it). Don't waste your oatmeal (or your time cleaning the crock pot!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I was VERY disappointed with this recipe. I did as the recipe instructed, and in the morning had stuck oatmeal on the sides of the pot and a watery MESS in the center. Don't know if anyone else had this happen, but will NOT make this again.!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
If you like oatmeal that's not quite as creamy as this, use whole oats and 1/2 cup more water. It perfect!!! After 10 hours on low, it still has some nuttiness! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Yum this is so good. I make all the time now usually w/ steel cut oat & add some Quinoa & ground flax. Creamy, yummy & good for you. Even my young boys will eat with cream & sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Downey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Travelers Rest, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I really wanted this to work but didn't have great success. The recipe doesn't specify the type of oatmeal and I think that is the problem. I used quick cooking, put it in my small (dip sized crock)on warm for about 7 hours. I used milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2 and added a couple of tablespoons of butter. (I found that combination in a similar recipe from a slow cooker cooking site) Mine didn't stick to the crock but the texture was way too mushy for our tastes (tapioca like). I might try it again using regular oatmeal to see if I had better luck. It would be great to wake up on a school morning to a hot breakfast ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I don't usually make my oatmeal with milk (milk products). In the morning I had a sloshy-sour mess. I almost tossed the pot, what didn't cook burnt to the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this last night. After reading all the reviews, I added 2 Tbsp butter and made a 1-1/2 batch, hoping to avoid the sticking! No such luck. The oatmeal was okay, but I had to use a lot of elbow grease to clean my crockpot! Also, I didn't add the 1/2&1/2 as it was extremely creamy on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I too had to play with this recipe. The first time I made it, it stuck to the sides of the cooker and was too thick. It must depend a on the type of cooker you have. What works for me is 4 cups of water (or 2 cups milk and 2 cups water), 2 cups of oatmeal. Cook on "keep warm" for 8-10 hours. Sometimes I add raisins, cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I really wanted this to work. Unfortunately, this was a disaster in our crockpot. Most of it was stuck to the sides and the middle was sort of a runny mess. Maybe this recipe is entirely dependent on your crockpot. I guess I'll go back to baked oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This was not what I expected the oatmeal was soggy and had a burnt taste even though I cooked it for the apprpriate time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States