Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
My 9 year old daughter loves it!! We add diced green apples and rasins to it. I cook it on warm all night and it comes out perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
After reading some reviews, I heeded the advice of Gill-G. She suggested 2c oats, 2c milk & 2c water. I also cooked it on the "warm" setting. The result was perfect, creamy oatmeal & no burnt edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augustmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I think that the wide variety of results on this recipe can be chalked up to crock-pot differences. To avoid a cooked on mess, your crock-pot needs to be 2/3-3/4 full when you turn it on. The recipe as written would fail miserably in a 6 qt cooker. Also, due to the long cooking time, use 20-25% more liquid than the oat container calls for. I wouldn't use instant oatmeal here. Try Old-Fashioned or Steel-Cut oats. I have a 6 qt crock pot and I used: 2 cups old-fashioned oats 1 cup steel cut oats 8 cups water 3 cups milk 4 Tbsp butter 1/2 cup brown sugar (should have used more) I cooked on low for 8 hours and stirred. The result was creamy and delicious and there was just a little stuck in the corners. This made a lot, but for the rest of the week I'll just portion it out and add a little milk before re-heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I definitely didn't realize what a difference it would make to cook the oatmeal overnight. It was much creamier and had a great flavor. Not to mention how great it was to wake up to breakfast. I just had to give it a quick stir to mix it all together. I do think I will use a crock pot liner next time. My crock pot runs a little warm, so by the time I woke up some of the oatmeal had burned and was stuck to the crock pot. It made a lot, so I still had plenty left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I cooked the oatmeal on the "keep warm" setting.. it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtimion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I should have heeded previous reviewers' advice and not attempted this, but it's so tempting to have piping hot non-instant oatmeal ready for you first thing in the morning. I tried. No luck. It's just as many other reviewers stated. A gluey gloppy mess, accompanied by crusty stuck to the side *burnt* oatmeal (and I sprayed the heck out of the crock pot w/PAM before I loaded it). Don't waste your oatmeal (or your time cleaning the crock pot!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I was VERY disappointed with this recipe. I did as the recipe instructed, and in the morning had stuck oatmeal on the sides of the pot and a watery MESS in the center. Don't know if anyone else had this happen, but will NOT make this again.!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
If you like oatmeal that's not quite as creamy as this, use whole oats and 1/2 cup more water. It perfect!!! After 10 hours on low, it still has some nuttiness! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Yum this is so good. I make all the time now usually w/ steel cut oat & add some Quinoa & ground flax. Creamy, yummy & good for you. Even my young boys will eat with cream & sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Travelers Rest, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I really wanted this to work but didn't have great success. The recipe doesn't specify the type of oatmeal and I think that is the problem. I used quick cooking, put it in my small (dip sized crock)on warm for about 7 hours. I used milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2 and added a couple of tablespoons of butter. (I found that combination in a similar recipe from a slow cooker cooking site) Mine didn't stick to the crock but the texture was way too mushy for our tastes (tapioca like). I might try it again using regular oatmeal to see if I had better luck. It would be great to wake up on a school morning to a hot breakfast ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States