Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I added apples and cinnemon/sugar too so it was ready to eat in the morning. Yummy! Almost like pudding! I could see putting it on top of ice cream even!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Eward Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Hi, I just finished eating this oatmeal for brekfast. It was very creamy and delicious. This is what I did. I used one cup of oatmeal, two cups of water and a half cup of milk. As well I threw in 1/4 cup of raisins and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I started it on warm and went to bed around eleven. Halfway threw the night I checked on it and found it was sticking to the sides so I added another cup and a half of water turned it to high and went back to bed. Around seven I turned it to off and stirred it a little then went back to bbed till nine. My husband and I both thought it was very creamy and I love waking up to our usual Sunday breakfast already cooked. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Delicious! Perfect. After reading all the reviews -- and not having any steel cut oatmeal on hand, just regular old fashioned Quaker Oats -- I made a heavenly breakfast in my 3-qt slow cooker. The key was the 3:1 ratio of liquid to oats. I used 4 cups water and 2 cups milk to 2 cups oats. I added a cut-up Granny Smith apple, pinch of salt, and 1 t. real vanilla. Cooked on low all night (approx. 8 hrs) and am enjoying it now with nothing but brown sugar added. I'll be cooking oatmeal this way from now on. No sticky cooker, by the way -- I sprayed with oil first and it rinsed out in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweepea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This just did not come out the way I was hoping. It was pretty gluey and not tasty at all. Not even after adding the brown sugar (EXTRA brown sugar) and cream. I think I'll stick to cooking it on the stove from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This isn't what I thought I guess. I used Bob's Red Mill Gluten-Free Oatmeal and 3.5cups of water in a 1.5lt crock overnight on low. Still had a soupy consistancy after 9 hours. Nothing I could add cream too since it would have been way too liquidy. My 7 y.o picky eater liked it with butter and brown sugar added, my husband just liked having a hot bfast ready for him at 6am so he ate it without issue. My 5y.o wouldn't touch it. Taste was fine but consistnacy was ??? I'll need to tweak this more because a different recipe wouldn't make sense since its just water and oatmeal overnight. Less water at the beginning I would think if using the g/f oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was a great way to make oatmeal. I was unsure about making it beacause of all the people who had problems but mine turned out great. I used my Little Dipper since I only had rolled oats and not steel cut. I put a liner in, added a half cup of oats and one and a half cups of water and let it cook overnight. 11 pm to about 9 am. When I lefted the top the oatmeal was creamy soft and wonderful. I will make this again and again for mornings during the week when I am running out the door for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by passionatebaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jessup, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I was a little nervous about this after reading some of the reviews but...It was great! I sprayed the crockpot with Pam and used 2 cups milk and 1.5 cups water (used milk to make it little richer I didin't have half & half)with the 1 cup oats (only had quick oats) chopped up an apple and about 1 tsp. cinnamon. Went to bed and 7 hrs. later had a great hot breakfast for 4 boys who all leave for school at different times. Poured some milk on top with brown sugar. They loved it~Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Well I loved the idea of this recipe. But it didn't work out for me at all. My oatmeal was a gushy mushy mess in the morning. I only cooked it for 6 hours. But it could be my crockpot cooks a little hotter. I don't think I'll make this again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Following others' helpful advice, I used about 1 1/2 c oats w/ about 3 1/2 cups of water and cooked on "keep warm" overnight...it was perfectly smooth and creamy! We added baked apples, cinammon and brown sugar when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States