Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I really didn't care for this recipe. I was so excited to find one that you make the night before and wake up to a healthy, flavorful breakfast, however, I didn't find that with this recipe. Yes, it is definitely creamy, even two days later, but the flavor was lacking. I found it very bland and too creamy. The texture of the oats is completely lost in the slow cooking process. I think I could have gotten past the texture if it had more flavor. Even after adding what I consider a lot of brown sugar, it was still lacking. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
It didn't burn, that was the first thing I looked for when I came downstairs to have my oatmeal soI thought GREAT! I did put Pam on the 1 quart cooker. I used 2 cups water, 1 c milk, pinch salt and 1/2 apple~~no brown sugar. It was too gummy. I did use regular oatmeal not steel cut oats; however the original recipe doesn't specify steel cut oats either. I won't be making this one again. The concept is great as who wouldn't want to come out to the kitchen and have breakfast all ready. Anyone know of a non-mush way to do this? I consider the "creamy" term "gummy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missz174
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Great taste and super creamy. The basics of this recipe are good but the execution needed lots of adjustment based on your individual crock pot. I used 1 c. steel cut oats, 4 cups water, 1 c. cream. Sprayed my crock pot with Pam and poured the 3 ingredients in, gave it a stir, set it on low, and let it cook for 4 hours. I checked it at 4 hours and to my surprise, it was done. Thick and creamy. A little stuck to the sides but not too much. I turned off the pot and let it sit over night. Super thick and creamy and all that was stuck on the sides had come off. Just added some milk and put in the microwave for a minute then add your toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This came out horrible! It was watery, lumpy and a hard thick layer of oats were stuck all around the edge of the slow cooker...Will not be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
After reading all the reviews, I think the problem is with the individual slow cookers! Mine only has slow cook/warm settings. It wasn't clear in the recipe what type of oats, but I used old fashioned oats. This is what I did to address the burning/mushy problems: I sprayed the slow cooker with Pam, added 1T. I Can't Believe It's Not Butter to mixture and cooked on warm for 10 hrs. I also adjusted recipe by adding cinnamon to taste and a capful of vanilla extract but also mixed fat free half-and-half and brown sugar in the night before to cook all together overnight. The only thing I added in the am was 2 sliced over ripe bananas. It was so creamy and it was a great bananas and cream oatmeal!! DELICIOUS!!!!! I'm cooking another batch now for my morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I liked this but have made a few additions of my own. Add tapioca, it smooths out the pastiness of oatmeal. Instead of cream I used water and added powdered milk. It is great with added peaches or apples and a touch of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Stove top version: Bring water to a boil add the "dry steel cut oats" (We love those). Boil for 4 minutes, stir, cover with lid, turn off the stove, leave on the burner, and go to bed. In the morning the oatmeal is ready & can be stove or mic heated. (add cream & sugar at this time) this is easier then a crock pot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Bloom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Spray cooker with cooking spray before putting ingredients in and no problem. Can add any dried or fresh fruits to it. I like raisins added just before serving but some like them soft.Experiment with spices too or add canned pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I tried this twice in the slow cooker and just couldn't get it to work. It was still soupy the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Turned it on at midnight, turned it off around 7:00. Opened lid to watery-lumpy yucky mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States