Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I have tried this with several different fruits. Its a good recipe. I have the problem of the oats sticking on the sides. My husband wakes up first, so he has been adding more oats upon waking, so they will be ready when we eat breakfast. I've tried several things to avoid the sticking. None have worked yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Best ever and SO convenient and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Way too over-cooked. A mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
So easy. Nothing better than waking up to already made creamy oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debb
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Loved this! It burned a little bit despite using cooking spray, may have cooked it too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonP1382

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I've made this a few times, and have found that 1cup of steel cut oats, 2cups of water and 2 cups of milk and 1tablespoon of butter makes a wonderful, creamy oatmeal. Then just add whatever you want in the morning. Hope this helps! It is a very good recipe and it is very worth having breakfast all ready when you wake up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was pretty good. I did add 1/2 tsp of vanilla and a few tablespoons of butter to keep it from sticking. It did still stick on the bottom but most of it was ok. Maybe if it was cooked for a shorter period of time that would have helped. It was still a nice treat to wake up to in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I wondered how people were cooking their oatmeal in a big slowcooker and finally found the one piece of info that many people were missing. Use the slowcooker like a bain-marie (water bath)! Inside my slowcooker I put a crock of some type (I use a corningwear pot or a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup). I put all of the oatmeal and water/milk per the recipe into the corningwear pot and then add water to the crockpot AROUND the corningwear pot to about halfway up the side of the corning wear pot. I don't put a lid on the corningwear pot. I put the lid on the slowcooker and put it on low overnight which for me is usually about 6 or 7 hours. In the morning the oatmeal is perfect and just needs a stir. Nothing has ever been stuck to the corningwear pot and because I didn't put the oatmeal into the slow cooker itself I don't have to clean the slowcooker. I just empty the water and wipe it dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Mine turned out beautifully. Instead of 1/2 and 1/2, I used low fat milk (for less fat) and some flavored kefir for more flavor and added creaminess. My picky boys ate big bowls--the first time ever w/o prodding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Reeve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was fantastic and so easy! I took the advice of other reviewers and upped the water to 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States