Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
10 stars. So convenient to cook this overnight and have it ready in the morning. Eat by itself or add fruits and nuts before serving. Caution, it will stick to the crock, spray with Pam or better still use a liner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Coach's oatmeal is the best we have found for this. At least an hour at the porridge setting in a Sanyo rice maker. The titanium coated bowl makes clean up a snap---just let the remaining oatmeal dry out and it peals right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
The problem of sticking to the crockpot is easily remedied by spraying the pot with Pam first. Duh! And to the people who insist on putting butter into the oatmeal (not in the recipe) I ask, would you put butter into a bowl of Cheerios? It's cereal, not a casserole or side-dish. I really like cinnamon in my oatmeal and it is actually a very good additive to help with arthritis pain relief and really boosts the taste of the oatmeal. This is a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I used my SMALL crock pot. I added the old fashioned oats, water & some cinnamon & left it on low for 8 hours. Gave it a stir, added about 1/4-1/3 cup 1% milk and 8 packets of sweet n low. This is also a good time to add any fruit or nuts, if you like. THEN, I added in one packet of single serve oats to get the right consistency. I put the lid back on, popped the toast in the toaster, prepared my mug of coffee and the oats were perfect! The addition of that little packet of oats made all the difference! I'll be making this often! Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I use only groats (the hull taken off the whole oat) and not the steelcut. I put it only in a 1 1/2 qt. slow cooker. The water will be 3/4 the way up the side. It comes out very soft and lovely. If you don't have it between 1/2 and 3/4 full (in case you are using a larger crock pot) it won't cook correctly and you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
very good. super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this last Christmas eve for breakfast at my daughter's house. It was such a hit I'm taking it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The recipe probably should state "steel cut oats." There are some bad reviews but it appears they did not use steel cut, and I can see how anything else would result in a big mushy mess. I forgot to put these on last night, so I put them on at about 3am on high, and after a few hours I turned them down to low. The flavor is amazing! I used half water and half half&half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
absoutely lovely. Used steel cut oat so I followed advice of others and directions on container and used 4 c water to 1 c oats. Thanks to several of you easy clean up because I used a crock pot liner. It was creamy, but still had a slight chewiness. Cooked to perfection overnight. So nice to wake up and have it be all ready for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Followed recipe as written. Used tiny crock pot, turned on warm overnight as suggested by others. Used old fashioned oats, and they all had dissolved. Yes, creamy, but no oatmeal texture. Made it on the stovetop. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States