Slow Cooker Moscow Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Meh. I was just looking for a recipe to use up some extra chicken thighs I had so I thought I try this. The chicken was tender and moist. It fell off the bone. I just don't think the flavor popped. Maybe if I added more garlic cloves or ginger or added something else complimentary. It wasn't bad, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I found this OK the first time around as the bacon was unappetizing and the sauce very fatty. Better the second time I made it whne I partially cooked the bacon, then seriously browned the seasoned skin-on bone-in thighs in the bacon grease on high heat until the skin was crisp, then followed the rest of the recipe. Probably not the healthiest dish but the bacon was appetizing and sauce less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
great recipe, but the bacon should be half-fried first. I will cook 4 hours next time instead of 5 to 6. I also skinned the thighs first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampy1939

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harmony, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was very good! Everyone enjoyed it. I liked it better a day later. Very tasty, very easy. I might use skinless/boneless thighs and skip the frying step next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was easy to prepare and was very very good. My boyfriend absolutely loved it. We couldn't find Russian dressing at the local grocery store (seriously, it was ridiculous!) so I had to make it from scratch. Sadly, the dressing separated during cooking and didn't look too appetizing in the crock but it still tasted amazing. Next time (and there will certainly be a next time, we loved this) I'll definitely make sure to use bottled dressing as that should help remedy the separation problem and make this even better. Also, I did microwave the bacon for a short time before wrapping the chicken. I'm not sure it was necessary but it turned out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Niles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was ok. I think the bacon needs to be cooked a little first. I can't have tomatoes so I used a balsamic garlic one. I also used breast as I don't like bones. I don't know how that picture has such a brown look as if it was baked or grilled. Ours certainly did not look like that. My teenage son really liked it but I probably will not make this one much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I haven't tried this recipe yet but thought that I would share an idea I have for the recipe. To get a sweet and sour taste, this would probably taste great on saurkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very good recipe for chicken. Hubby took one bite and said "Yum". High praise from him! ;) I had made bacon for breakfast so I used the bacon grease to brown the chicken in. I did use bone in skin on thighs. Instead of wrapping the chicken I just placed bacon on top of the thighs. Also used homemade Russian dressing. I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do with the green onions so I decided to just top the chicken with them as garnish. Unfortunately it was a crazy night and I completely forgot to do it!! Ah well next time. Served with rice. I will definitely be making this again.*****Made this again and remembered the green onions. They really add and extra kick. I just sprinkled them on the finished chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Easy to make and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was yummy, very different but super easy and we had it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States