Slow Cooker Moroccan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I have never posted a recipe review before, but I had to take the plunge for this one! The taste of the sauce can only be described as divine! I had my doubts as I was adding in the cinnamon and peaches, but this was oh, so yummy! Even my 80 yr old dad who is pretty much a meat-and-potatoes guy asked for seconds and complimented the meal. I used 5 leg quarters--the meat fell off the bone, so I fished out the bones (or at least most of them) before serving and just added the cornstarch/water mixture without removing the chicken. I also omitted the apricots--only because I did not have any on hand. I used frozen peaches--worked just fine, and I likely used more garlic than called for. This one will definitely be repeated often in our household. BTW, I put the chicken--frozen--in the crockpot the night before, left it in the fridge, and mixed up all the other ingredients so all I had to do before going to work was dump it in. Cooked all day on low. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed the ease and simplicity of this dish. I had 4 large bone in breasts that needed to be used rather than the boneless and this actually worked out better because the amount of cooking time would have turned the boneless into shoe leather in my crockpot. This cooked for 7 hours on low, and was on the warm feature for about 1 1/2 hours, til I got home from work. I didn't have the apricots on hand so I did sub in carrots this time around. That was nice and next time I may add them along with the apricots. I did use everything else and it cooked down to a very nice sauce. Not to sweet, and lots of interesting spices to give it lots of depth. Topped it with cilantro and sliced almonds. Served with couscous and pita and it turned out to be a wonderful comfort style meal without the hassle of standing over the stove. Not really sure what some of the other reviewers meant by "blandness". It was far from bland. Thanks Juliebo. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Not bad. Easy to make and decent flavour. Maybe a little lemon grass to add some zing or a bit of red chili for some bite. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is great! My husband has been bugging me every week to make it again! I added a tablespoon of hot asian chili to give it more kick. Also I recommend tossing the chicken on the stove before putting it in, just to avoid that boiled chicken taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I was expecting something with a more exotic flavor and despite all the seasonings and the sweetness of the peaches and tartness of the apricot - all I tasted was tomato. I felt it was rather ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I thought this was pretty good to begin with, although it seemed like it was missing "something." I've been eating it as leftovers with a dish of plain yogurt on the side. From the second day on, the flavors had a chance to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Setesdal, Aust-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
this had great flavor...i"m not a fan of chicken in the crock pot, I think it dries it out...maybe cut the time down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
One of my friends described this as "restaurant delicious!" I did alter the recipe a bit, just due to what I had on hand: Instead of chicken, I substituted 2 turkey drumsticks and 2 turkey thighs. (about 2 lbs of meat). (This may solve the problem of bland meat). I also used a large can of garbanzo beans. I couldn't find peaches in season at the grocery, so I used a 28 oz can of sliced peaches and drained off the juice. I added heaping portions of all the spices since I was putting in extra meat, etc. So this ended up not fitting in my small slow cooker- I cooked it on the stove in a large cast dutch oven. Simmered it a couple hours on the stove, then pulled the meat from the bone and added the cornstarch + water. Yum yum yum! So amazing over couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I followed the directions and did not change things up. I didn't even serve it. The flavors were weird and unappetizing. This is the most disappointing thing I've ever made. =-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe and it was very good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States