Slow Cooker Moose Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was great! I was concerned about cooking a moose roast for the first time, but this recipe is very easy and the moose was very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I used this for a Caribou roast and it was wonderful. It was the first time I made Caribou and I feel with the easy of this recipe and the great quality of our meat it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Adak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I tried this recipe for the first time because like many wives, I have a freezer full of moose roasts etc, and no idea what to do with it. The only thing I changed was I added a can of beer in to the slow cooker instead of apple juice or other liquids. It added a nice flavour and took away alot of the gameiness taste. I'd seen it done that way on one of the hunting shows my husband watches. Try it - it was great and my kids loved it too and they had no idea what they were eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is a great recipe for those not too familiar with cooking game meats. I had never cooked moose roast before and had two of them to make for the 12 guests who were coming for dinner! This recipe was simple but very tender and really tasty. We got excellent reviews from our guests and even though I was sure I'd made way too much food, lots of people had seconds and there was absolutely nothing left over! My husbands only complaint was that we don't have any more moose roasts left in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Here's the positive and negatives about this recipe. Positive: No gamey taste and you don't need to soak the roast overnight with buttermilk. Easy to make and only a couple of ingredients. Can use applesauce and water in lieu of the apple juice which results in a thicker gravy. Negative: Nothing special but good. Overall, I like Slow Cooker Italian Moose Roast Sandwiches more than this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was very tasty! On my second and third times preparing this recipe, I substituted the apple juice with apple sauce and water... it turned out amazing! Plus, the apple sauce helps to form a "thicker" gravy-like sauce that doesn't need thickening. This dish paired with horseradish sauce.... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Just wasn't for our taste buds. Didn't like it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My in-laws were coming so I decided to make a moose for supper. I never made a moose before in my life so I was a little nervous to do it. I found this recipe and I’m glad I did. The moose was gone before I could eat it. I had to eat my children’s leftovers and that’s how I know how good it tasted. It was a very tender meat. Do not cook it for 8 hours though. It’s enough with 6 hours. That’s what I did and the meat turned our amazing. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This recipe is EXCELLENT! I've made it for company, and everyone raved about it, and fought over second-servings. There were no leftovers. The gravy can be thickened with cornstarch and is excellent over mashed potatoes Thanks so much for posting it - it's so easy, but SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I will say that the gamey taste was completely gone, but, otherwise there just wasn't much to this recipe to make it special. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States