Slow Cooker Moose Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Super easy, super tender, and a great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I added Salt and Pepper to the roast before browning but would also consider adding a touch of Garlic to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Moose is tricky. If you don't cook it right it turns into a gamey hockey puck, which although quite Canadian, is not particularly appetizing. Slow cooking it is the way to go and the apple addition here was right on. My husband loved it and we've passed it on to his dad who is the moose hunter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this for a Christmas party, and no one knew what it was!! surprise surprise!! It was incredible. It was tender and moist and the gravy had such a sensational taste. If I am ever to make it again, I would throw in a little wine and some fresh mushrooms. Absolutely wonderful surprise. It was gone in a flash.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I was skeptical of how good the moose roast would be with just 4 ingredients, but I made the roast for a church potluck and it was amazing. It was so tender and tasty! It tasted wonderful by itself and I was upset that it was gone at the end of the potluck! So good and ridiculously easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Delicious! I was skeptical of the ingredients, but the roast was amazing. I added two cups of water and an onion, quartered. My Father stocks our freezer with moose each year and we're always looking for different ways to cook it. My husband said this has been his favorite so far. Serve with horseradish and/or hot sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
My fiance went hunting and I ended up with a freezer full of moose and no clue what to do with it since I had never even tasted moose, let alone cook it! I came across this recipe and thought I would give it a shot. IT WAS FANTASTIC!!! No gamey taste at all and the meat was fall apart tender! My fiance said it was the best moose roast he had ever had! Quite the compliment coming from a hunter! I have made this recipe about 4x since and it is totally foolproof! Wonderful every time and the apple juice with the meat juices makes for a simply scrumptious gravy. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi Lance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binbrook, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
very tender roast . this well be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shediac, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was great! I was concerned about cooking a moose roast for the first time, but this recipe is very easy and the moose was very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I used this for a Caribou roast and it was wonderful. It was the first time I made Caribou and I feel with the easy of this recipe and the great quality of our meat it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Adak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States