Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was very good. I used round steak that I had on hand and it worked fine. I didn't have any hoisin sauce so I made some. There's not a recipe on this site so here's the recipe for hoisin. 4 Tbsp Soy sauce, 2 Tbsp Peanut butter,1 Tbsp Honey/molasses,2 tsp White vinegar,1/8 tsp Garlic powder, 2 tsp Sesame seed oil, 20 drops Chinese-style hot sauce, 1/8 tsp Pepper. My family said "it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
this was AWESOME!! word to the wise, its quite sweet, so if you dont like sweet, cut back on the sugar. we loved it!! flank steak was too expensive, so i substituted flap meat and it was so tender.served it over white rice. i also added chili garlic sauce to kick up the heat, maybe 2-3 Tbsp. loved the flavor combo spicy/sweet. thanks for a ridiculously easy and delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa demayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was a really good meal. I spread it over a bed of white sticky rice and my wife loved it. Things I may change for the next time I make this: I used Teriyaki Sauce instead of soy (I didn't have soy sauce), so I should reduce the amount of brown sugar. I would also throw in the green and white onions at about 2hrs into cooking so they don't just turn into sauce, I think if they cooked for less time they would add more appeal and substance to the dish. I also added red pepper flakes to spice it up a little, I think I put in about a tablespoon and it was a mild spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I doubled the amount of meat but left the sauce amount the same. I used reduced-sodium soy sauce and think next time I'll reduce the amount of soy sauce slightly since it seemed a bit overwhelming taste-wise and left an aftertaste. Followed another reviewer's suggestion to cook 2 hrs. and then add the onion and green onion and cook an additional 2 hrs. and this worked well. I also skipped the pre-browning in a skillet - since the steak is cooked in a very dark brown sauce, no one could tell that it wasn't pre-browned in a skillet. One less pan to wash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koriekiss
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I used a 2 1/2 lb flank steak so I doubled the sauce, which was probably not necessary since there was so much in the end. I only added half the brown sugar called for and it was still very sweet. I also added a couple of tablespoons of asian chili sauce to give it some heat and saved the green onions until it was almost done. I thought it was excellent! Served with white rice and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was amazing! My son made it for dinner. we did double the meat and there was plenty of sauce for it. Its very tasty...We ate it over rice and had stir fry on the side. not really spicy so if you want some heat you need to add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I made this for dinner yesterday, the flank steak was too pricey so I found some thin sliced top sirloin which work fabulously. The meat was very tender, I did though cook 2 pounds instead of 1 and for some reason the hoisin sauce seemed to overpower the soy sauce and as one reviewer mentioned it was too much brown sugar, even for 2 pounds of beef. Overall it was close to the Mongolian beef I like at the Chinese restaurant. The next time I will try to add a little Chinese five spice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingisahobby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Used Pork Tenderloin because I didn't have beef. Hubs had two helpings and is now complaining he ate too much. He did say it was a little salty but I think I might have cooked it too long and made it saltier. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was very good. The recipe made a ton of sauce; I used 2 pounds of beef and doubled the sauce and probably didn't need to. I used about half the amount of sugar and it was just right in terms of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Amazingly good! Wanted to try something dfferent. I used 2 lbs. of thin bracciole meat that I sliced thin on an angle into pieces....I coated with the cornstarch and did not fry in the oil....just added right to the crockpot. For the sauce, I used 1/2c. soy, 1c. water, 2 tblspns of brown sugar, 3/4c hoisin, 1 tsp. fresh grated ginger, and 3 cloves of minced garlic. Mixed that together and pour that over the beef, onions, and grren onions. Cooked on low for 6 hours... The smell was so great! The sauce thickened nicely and the meat was so tender. Served over steamed broccoli instead of rice for carb reasons....Delicious with pleanty of sauce that was not too sweet. My family loved this dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States