Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was really good. I cut the brown sugar by half because of what I read in other reviews. I used sirloin instead of flank to make it less costly. I also added red chili flakes and a couple splashes of hot sauce to spice up a bit. The only issue I had was that the cooking time seems too long. I cut off the slow cooker after a little over 3 hours and the sauce was a little burnt and very dark. Definitely will make it again and modify a little bit. I think I will do what another reviewer suggested and wait to add the onions until later so they maintain some firmness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made this recipe because I had 1/2 a jar of hoisin sauce to use up. Hubby and I thought this was waaaaaay too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
this was great! My whole family loved it and it was pretty easy to prepare. I added some broccoli to it about 1/2 hour before serving just to give it more body (and veggies!). Might try some red bell pepper next time as well. Served it over steamed rice. True, it is sweet, but not overly so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good! I needed to leave it on while at work, so I left the steak whole and still slightly frozen. It was in for 9 hours on low and turned out great; it was falling apart tender so I just sort of shredded it and served with the sauce over rice. I did add about a tablespoon of cornstarch to the sauce for the last half hour of cooking. Also left out the green onions, but I think they would have added a nice touch. Boyfriend approved, thanks for an easy weeknight recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I enjoyed it just as the recipe is written. I did use low sodium soy sauce and glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I skipped the frying step all together. Cut the sugar in half. Added a few dried chiles. Added the onions in the last 1 1/2 hours of cooking. Thickened it in the last 15 minutes with some of the juice scooped out and 2 tablespoons of cornstarch mixed in. My hubby said it was better than restaurants, I don't know if I agree but it was pretty darned good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was amazing! So great - we served on rice with broccoli. My son said it was the best ever. I did use half the brown sugar as suggested by many others - can't say enough - so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamandAubreysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
So easy, Taste great as is. Family loved it, I think we all were in food comas we ate so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Even with the low-sodium soy sauce it was still salty. Despite adding extra ginger, it only tasted of soy sauce. I don't find soy sauce nice enough to stand on its own. I made it with chicken breast, perhaps the lack of fat made it less enjoyable. I've never been a dark meat person though. That being said, for those of you who do like it and want to make it with chicken breast, a good way to get the chicken to mix with the sauce (and thus keep the flavor) is to shred it into chunks. Don't need the cornstarch this way. I served it on white rice with steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States