Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was really salty. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I used a couple of pounds of cheap round steak cut into very thin strips. Cooked it on low 2 hours, then added onions and garlic, cooked one more hour, added a frozen bag of stir-fry veggies and cooked one more hour. Meat was perfectly tender and the veggies were also perfect. Would have liked it to be a little spicier, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Not impressed at all. I expected a more sweet flavor & instead it was very bitter. Needs some tweaking. Meat was almost too tender & definitely you need to cook way more than the recipe calls for. The was way too much sauce compared to meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I suggest making sure to "beat" the steak until its thin throughout so that it crisps up better in the pan. I think I would have enjoyed this recipe more had I done that. I also would cut the sauce down by about a fourth and add more hot spice to it. I doubt I'll make it again unless I get a random craving for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PCBDeborah
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I tried this after work because if I had left it on Low for 10 hours, no telling what it would have been (Mongolian stew?). Instead I cooked it on High for 2 hours. It turned out very well, and the sauce is fantastic. I did add about a teaspoon of red pepper pepper flakes, as others suggested, and it was just spicy enough for us (but we do like spicy). I also added the onions in the last hour, as others suggested as well. I'm giving it four stars instead of five, tho, because it needs a little crunch. I will add broccoli or water chestnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCBDeborah
Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was alright, something about the flank steak put me off. I normally have it cooked on a grill and sliced thin against the grain, and the texture has always come out perfect. I've never done flank steak in a slow cooker, and likely never will again because the texture just seemed off. As far as the sauce goes, it was good, nothing I'd write home about. This didn't really remind me of anything Mongolian, in the same way that Chinese food doesn't really taste like anything you'd eat in and around China. If the ratings broke down, I'd give the meat just 3 stars, and the sauce 3.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
With the wildly divergent views about this recipe I was a bit apprehensive going in. I read all the customizations and incorporated a few. I used 2.5 lbs of flap meat because it was on sale, and it was ideal - I get really impatient cutting meat, and flap was perfect for this purpose since I could practically pull it apart with my hands to make strips. I skipped the browning stage and threw it all in the pot. I reduced the brown sugar by half. I couldn't find fresh ginger so I substituted a pinch of powdered. I like my onions well cooked so I put them in from the beginning, but they were a little too destroyed after 3 hours on low so next time I'll delay them. I used Lee Kum Kee brand hoisin. This turned out astonishingly close to my great local chinese takeaway, about 95% there. I'll make tiny tweaks next time, maybe a little more ginger if I can't find fresh, just a hair more sugar. Even with more than double the amount of meat, there was still sauce left over, though I did need to stir it more often while it cooked to keep the meat covered (my slow cooker is oval not circular). Excellent recipe, not too sweet (with modification), not too salty! I had to stop myself from eating the whole darned thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and while the meat was super tender it was way too sweet.. Thou my husband had no complaints!!. Next time Im going to half the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kurth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was an excellent dish. I had kind of a tough cut of meat that I slow cooked all day and it almost melted in the mouth. My husband raved about it. Definitely a keeper recipe. It went great with some oriental noodles and a stirfry and spring rolls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I really didn't care for this. Way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States