Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by PCBDeborah
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I tried this after work because if I had left it on Low for 10 hours, no telling what it would have been (Mongolian stew?). Instead I cooked it on High for 2 hours. It turned out very well, and the sauce is fantastic. I did add about a teaspoon of red pepper pepper flakes, as others suggested, and it was just spicy enough for us (but we do like spicy). I also added the onions in the last hour, as others suggested as well. I'm giving it four stars instead of five, tho, because it needs a little crunch. I will add broccoli or water chestnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCBDeborah
Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was alright, something about the flank steak put me off. I normally have it cooked on a grill and sliced thin against the grain, and the texture has always come out perfect. I've never done flank steak in a slow cooker, and likely never will again because the texture just seemed off. As far as the sauce goes, it was good, nothing I'd write home about. This didn't really remind me of anything Mongolian, in the same way that Chinese food doesn't really taste like anything you'd eat in and around China. If the ratings broke down, I'd give the meat just 3 stars, and the sauce 3.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
With the wildly divergent views about this recipe I was a bit apprehensive going in. I read all the customizations and incorporated a few. I used 2.5 lbs of flap meat because it was on sale, and it was ideal - I get really impatient cutting meat, and flap was perfect for this purpose since I could practically pull it apart with my hands to make strips. I skipped the browning stage and threw it all in the pot. I reduced the brown sugar by half. I couldn't find fresh ginger so I substituted a pinch of powdered. I like my onions well cooked so I put them in from the beginning, but they were a little too destroyed after 3 hours on low so next time I'll delay them. I used Lee Kum Kee brand hoisin. This turned out astonishingly close to my great local chinese takeaway, about 95% there. I'll make tiny tweaks next time, maybe a little more ginger if I can't find fresh, just a hair more sugar. Even with more than double the amount of meat, there was still sauce left over, though I did need to stir it more often while it cooked to keep the meat covered (my slow cooker is oval not circular). Excellent recipe, not too sweet (with modification), not too salty! I had to stop myself from eating the whole darned thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and while the meat was super tender it was way too sweet.. Thou my husband had no complaints!!. Next time Im going to half the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was an excellent dish. I had kind of a tough cut of meat that I slow cooked all day and it almost melted in the mouth. My husband raved about it. Definitely a keeper recipe. It went great with some oriental noodles and a stirfry and spring rolls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I really didn't care for this. Way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I liked this but my family didn't, and I'm not really sure why. I did as other reviewers suggested and added the veggies halfway through the cooking time and even so, they more or less disappeared into the final dish. I probably won't make this again since I'm not usually inclined to fuss with crockpot recipes. I like crockpot recipes that can cook all day without any special input. If I need to babysit I may as well make something on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great taste to it, and easy to make. Next time I'll double the meat though since it had a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was AWSOME! Made it for dinner tonight. I got one plateful and hubs ate ALL the rest. So much for leftovers. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes since we like a bit of heat. This is a perfect recipe. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I used exact measurements for this recipe and it was unedible. The salt was overwhelming (soy sauce) and the hoisin was entirely too strong. I washed it off, throwing the sauce away and keeping the meat. I will have to figure out what to do with the cooked meat so that I can eat it, I cannot throw it out, I paid $6 for it. If I ever make it again I will adjust the soy and hoisin down to 1/4 cup each and cut the brown sugar to the same. So dissapointing (and expensive).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States