Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My husband & I love this meal....i add the onions in at the last hour or so of cooking so they are not too soft or mushy. I also double the amount of green onions & make a little extra sauce. We enjoy this with wheat noodles.quick, easy, delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisBedz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Delicious!! I used boneless beef short ribs instead of flank steak. Usually I'm not a fan of the slow cooker because most everything I put in it tastes like boiled meat. But this recipe (with the short ribs) was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this recipe last night - following some other reviews I cut back the sugar by about a third, used sodium reduced gluten free soy sauce and added the green onion after 2 hours. I doubled the meat but left the amount of sauce the same. I also skipped the step with the corn starch and the browning, it didn't need it. I sliced the flank in about 1/2 inch thick slices across the grain and then cut into about 1 inch long pieces. I cooked for exactly 4 hours and it was tender and delicious. At about 3.5 hours I took out as much of the sauce as I could and reduced it in a sauce pan until it thickened up. When serving the meat I took it out of the slow cooker with a slotted spoon letting the loose sauce drain off - transferred it into a serving dish and poured over the reduced sauce, which was delicious. I served with broccoli slaw sauteed with butter and added a little soy sauce, rice vinegar and sugar dressing when serving and a fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I used a cheaper cut of meat because it was going to be way too much money to get enough flank steak. I wish I hadn't skimped though because the meat, while tender, just wasn't quite up to par. The recipe was good, but it didn't taste like Mongolian beef to me (but it did look like it!). I also cut the sugar, although swapping it with Orange Juice in the future might be something to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyG42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was SUPER EASY, and awesome tasting!! My family gave me the stamp of approval to make this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was excellent! Super easy to make and the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheDon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made the recipe as written, minus half the amount of sugar... it ended up way too salty and the sauce was definitely abundant. I had doubled the recipe and added the onions in when there was only an hour left to cook - that way there was still a little bit of a crunch and the onions were all cooked through. I ended up adding in about a cup of water and some sesame oil to improve the flavor (too much hoisin sauce for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I definitely won't be making it again. Way too much sauce, even when I doubled the meat portion. If you do decide to give it a go, be sure to slice the beef very thin. Mine was cubed and the texture was strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Great flavor and very easy to make. However, I would skip the step with the cornstarch and browning and just add the meat to the crockpot as is. The cornstarch made the sauce a little gelatinous and I would have preferred it to be a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I was skeptical, but it turned out very good!! I will be making this again. I didn't stray too far from the original recipe... I cut back on the sugar and soy sauce just a tad, I added a couple tablespoons of chili garlic sauce, and threw in a bag frozen broccoli for the last 30 minutes. Served it over white jasmine rice. I think next time I may change the meat to something else, or maybe just slice the flank steak a little thinner (as I had cubed it); it seemed just a little tough. Very good overall, a well deserved 4-stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States