Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this with a few alterations. It was really good and easy to prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I really didn't care for this at all. It was way to sweet. Sorry. :O(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I have this in my slow cooker now..it's a good recipe, but I make this on the stovetop regularly...one skillet, and, start to finish, maybe 25 minutes. If I have to dirty a skillet anyway, I'm not sure why I would want to make the slow cooker version. And I don't think I would want to put the uncooked beef in at the start. Obviously, the meat will cook thoroughly in the crockpot, but I think the slight carmelization on the edges adds something to the finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubysshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight and my husband and I both loved it. We used 1 lb skirt steak and cut it into strips. I didn't brown the steak before putting it in the slow cooker. I put everything in the slow cooker except the onion, let that cook for 2.5 hours, then I put in the onions for another hour. It was absolutely delicious. We will definitely be having this again. We served it with brown rice and string beans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Easy to throw together for a "fix it and forget it" type of recipe. I used sirloin that I partially froze so it was easier to cut it into thin strips. I fried the beef in a little sesame oil vs. olive. I opted to use a low sodium soy sauce, no water and cut back on the brown sugar. To give it a little "kick" I added a tsp. of chili garlic sauce. I cooked it on high for two hours and an additional 2 hours on low. I sliced a vialia onion and green onion (used a bunchlength wise vs. chopping and added them the last two hours of cooking so they didn't end up mushy. I topped it with toasted sesame seeds and finely chopped green onion. Perfect over a bed of rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Split decision. Two loved it and two didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Was a very good recipe, was a little sweet. Added green peppers and carrots. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHEA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Did not love this. It was really saucy and in 4 hours the onions became really limp and over cooked. The amount of hoisin is significantly higher than in other recipes. If I had it to do over, I'd lessen the amount of sugar, only add a tablespoon of hoisin sauce, and I'd hold off on adding the onions until near the end. Think I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I follwed this recipe exactly as written (other than adding onions in the last hour) and the meat was very tender. But the sauce was way too sweet and didn't taste at all like the Mongolian beef we've had at dozens of chinese restaurants. Almost inedible...won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I thought this recipe would be quick and easy, which it was. However, I followed the exact instructions and it turned out mushy and super sweet. It was inedible and I was left disappointed with no dinner after a long day. I would not recommend this recipe unless you like food that tastes like sugar and basically just hoisin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States