Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
great recipe! After reading the reviews I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and doubled the meat. I also cut the hoisin sauce to 1/3 cup or so. It was just the right amount of sauce! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
We love any kind of Asian food- Chinese, Thai, Mandarin~ not many recipes satisfy our taste for the restaurant version until this one! I added about 2 tsp of powdered garlic, 1 or 2 more onions (and thicker sliced) and chopped water chestnuts. On recommdtn. of others added broc., but only in last 5 min so it would stay crisp tender. It's a keeper and SO simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Really tasty! I was a litlte put off when I first made it because my beef cook down to mush. Next time I may not leave it in the slow cooker the full time. But once I got past the texture it was delicious. I agree with others that the sauce is definitely super sweet - but I like sweet. Again, I followed the advice of others and added the onions later in the cooking process (with about 1hr to go). I also added chopped carrots at that time, to up the veggies in this recipe, trying to get them in where I can. I served this over brown rice and with steamed broccoli. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dairymaid303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Excellent overall. Too sweet for my taste so I used only 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Also threw in a can of drained water chestnuts in the last 30 minutes to add a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this recipe almost exactly as written with the exception of reducing the sugar (only 1/4 cup) and the addition of crushed chilis (1 tsp) for a little Asian kick. It was very good - hubby had 3 bowls! Could probably have used less onion (1/2 instead of 1). Put the onions in after 2 hours of cooking on low as other had suggested and this worked well (the onions didn't lose all of their texture). Served over glass noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
not a favorite of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Really wanted this to be good and a timesaver. it was very tender, but the meat (even in the juice) was dry and stringy. I did not use a cheap cut of meat either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Way too sweet..had to through it out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is so good. Beef is nice and tender and has lots of flavor. I added broccoli in the last hour it was cooking. Also added garlic chile paste in the beginning. Served over wheat angel hair pasta with peanuts. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I think that browning the meat first makes it tougher. There was plenty of sauce. I used about half the amount of brown sugar, low sodium soy sauce, and no ginger since I didn't have any. The flavor of the hoisin sauce is very strong - if I made it again, I would use half to 1/3 the amount of that sauce. I put in frozen broccoli for the last hour of cooking. It did only need a couple hours to cook, but if you don't brown the meat first, it might need the full time. Flank steak is expensive which is too bad since neither me or my husband liked this much because of the strong hoisin sauce flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States