Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyyoder
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
awesome, my 8 year old had thirds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyyoder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
not very good not very mexican
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santanagarcia86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was fabulous! I used 3 breasts instead of 2 a little under 1lb. Ate with cheese sour cream and chips yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is definitely easy but rice just isn't friendly in my slow cooker, ends up overcooked & mushy. I may try to alter this a bit and serve it over rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Does not look anything like the picture. The rice never cooked and was very crunchy so I had to leave it in longer which made the entire dish mushy. I was really looking forward to trying it out but was disappointed with the result. I have had the dish in the crock-pot for over the 3 hours and 20 minute suggested time, on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was delicious. You could eat in inside a tortilla too. We actually used it as a dip with tortilla chips. This makes it very kids friendly. All 4 of my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I was skeptical about putting rice in the crock pot. The results were not good. The rice came out mushy and in some areas, clumps formed which were hard and not edible. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This recipe was popular with the family (i.e. not too spicy) and easy to make. The chicken came out tasting moist, not that over cooked dry taste I have had from other chicken crock pot recipes. I'm glad someone posted about the rice clumping. I made sure I stirred it well. It wasn't a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
From previous experience I would not cook rice in the slow cooker. Cook the rice with the chicken broth in a separate pot or rice cooker about 30-40 minutes before the crockpot chicken is done. Just put the remaining ingredients in the crockpot and cook. Then serve over the rice. You will not have lumpy,mushy, or crunchy rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
So Yummy!! Rice was a little mushy but we wrapped it in tortillas and you couldn't tell. We also topped with some cheese and sour cream. Will definitely be making this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States