Slow Cooker Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe but the texture was a little "mushy" for my taste. I used ground chicken instead of sausage to lower the fat content. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It was very easy to prepare and I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I made this for an office birthday party. I added about 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. Sereved the cheese and sour cream on the side. It was a huge success. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 51BRENDA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I thought this dish had a good flavor, but I agree with another reviewer, it was deffinatley mushy. I will try this again, but next time either keep my sausage in big chunks or maybe even use 2 pounds. Oh, I used regular sausage instead of hot, and it is very spicy! I think next time I will use the mild rotel instead of the original. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Easy to make. Tastes Great. Add salsa and sour cream to leftovers for an extra zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by termor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I've made this a couple of times now. It's fast easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I found this to be very dry and when it said to cook 4 to 6 hours, even 4 hours it was burned on the bottom and sides. It was set on low so I was surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I did use my own seasoned ground turkey to cut down on the spice and fat but even still, it was absolutely divine! Ps For those that find the recipe mushy you might need to drain your sausage longer or cook the dish on a higher setting for less than two hours. For the dryness...I found it is best to turn it on the lowest setting possible and cook no more than 3.5 hours. It really is about the temperment of your slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I made this for a tailgate party and added some black beans. Everyone loved it! It was pretty spicy, and I would recommend a smaller slow cooker, maybe a 2 qt instead of a standard size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I didnt use taco seasoning mix but added a little seasoning while cooking the sausage and it still turned out with really good flavor. However, it was a lot more soggy than I anticipated...maybe more cornmeal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was OK but I found the taco seasoning to be too strong. Maybe only half a packet would be enough. It over powered any other taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States