Slow Cooker Mediterranean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
From the name "Mediterranean Stew," I was excited for a soup/stew bursting with great flavors. What I got was little more than an average, basic vegetable soup. I followed every step of the recipe, except I swapped out green beans instead of the okra. My husband and I were both disappointed with the results. It is definitely edible. And an awesomely low calory meal. Just completely lacking in ethnic tones. Maybe if I male it again, I'll increase the spices in volume and variety...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I make this every other Monday -- I call it Mediterranean Stew Monday. I increased the eggplant to one whole eggplant, and eliminated the zucchini and okra. I also increased the carrots to three, substituted cherry tomatoes for the whole tomato, and add a can of garbanzo beans about an hour before it's done. The combination of spices is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Mushy and NOT at all what I expected!! I followed directions perfectly!! I can not even eat it. I am adventurous with recipes, however, this I would NEVER make again....what a waste of veggies!! Ordering out tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked this about 7 hours. The vegetables were too soft for our taste; other than the butternut squash, it was hard to discern what we were eating. I also expected a bit more flavor from the spices used. I'll not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Hearty, tasty and easy. I skipped the okra and added some extra raisins. I have a feeling we will be making this often over winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Despite all the spices, I find it a rather mild flavor. It is very good, though, and very vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I made this dish just as the recipe said, and was so excited to try this new dish. But the flavors were not to our liking. No one in my family liked this dish, and I will NOT be making it again! I wish we could give 0 stars instead of being made to give 1 or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I didn't have butternut squash so I used a whole eggplant and 2 zucchinis. I served it over couscous. It was very good and I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made this and really enjoyed it! I made a few changes as I went along as I felt they were appropriate: -Omitted the okra (because I forgot to add it) -Doubled all spices except cinnamon -Doubled the tomato sauce and vegetable broth to give it a little more liquid. Even with those additions, it was still very thick. -Cooked on low for 4 hours because I was worried about over-cooking and the squashes breaking down. I will certainly plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Great and easy recipe. I used 1/2 teaspoon all of all the spices. Also added chicken breasts. Laid the chicken on top of the veggies to cook then shredded it before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States