Slow Cooker Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Great go-to recipe! No changes except to add 1/2 tsp of salt to the meat mixture. Great for subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I thought these were pretty great. I made the meatballs the night before and browned them in a skillet first. I also seasoned them more heavily than the recipe calls for (Italian seasoning, basil, oregano, garlic powder and onion powder). Left out the onions for my kids. Instead of a jar of sauce, I used 28 oz of crushed tomatoes, 1 can tomato purée, 1/4 c red wine and lots of the same spices I used in the meatballs. The meatballs were incredibly moist and tender and I just LOVE having dinner made by 10 am in the morning!!!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I’ve never made meatballs in a slow cooker, so I decided to give this a try. I liked the method, but the recipe itself was sort of boring. The sauce just wasn’t that great and there was way too much of it, for us anyway. I think a good quality spaghetti sauce without the added tomatoes and puree would have been better. Although I doubt I'll make this exact recipe, I can see making meatballs in a slow cooker again. Regardless, it's always fun to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This recipe was awesome! I used ground turkey instead, Hunts pasta sauce(original) and I had twice the amount of crushed tomatoes so I left out the tomato puree. I also did not have parsley so I added some oregeno and garlic powder to the sauce. It was really good, next time I want to add some more herbs. Also I did not have italian bread crumbs, I had original so I added tonys seasoning and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I loved this recipe and so did my household...The sauce was excellent as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsarah18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanna, Indiana, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
It was pretty good, i did the sauce a bit different, i used 2 jars of orgainic sauce along with a can of tom. sauce and a small can of tom. paste, the sauce itself was great,. the balls were a bland as hell. I even added alot of seasoning but it still wasn't enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WTCHMEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
So easy and so delicious! Plus it's a great way to beat the summer heat on nights when it's just too hot to grill. The recipe for the meatballs is very good and while I was skeptical about doing this in a crock pot vs. my usual way I was pleasantly surprised. I used a jar of my favorite Classico sauce and added a little minced garlic and fresh basil along with a few splashes of red wine along with the rest of the ingredients. I cooked it for 6 hours on low and it smelled wonderful. When it was done I served it on toasted crusty Italian rolls with some mozzarella and topped with shredded Parmesan and Romano cheeses - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
we really enjoyed these meatballs, but i added1/2 tsp salt to the meatballs, next time I will add a whole tsp. I also added pepper. I left out the puree and added more spices. And instead of the bread crumbs, I used about 3/4 cup Quick oats and I prefried the meatballs in a little oil and then only had them in the slow cooker for 3 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Very tasty. I used packaged meatballs instead of making my own and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagle Nest, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States