Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I simplified this recipe to just potatoes, sour cream, milk/cream, butter and salt/pepper...and then put into a greased 5 quart slow cooker insert and refrigerated. 4 hours before serving time I placed the insert into the slow cooker and cooked on low for about 4 hours. Freed up the stove top and came out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GothCrone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bournemouth, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
What a great recipe especially for Thanksgiving. Everyone commented on how good they were. Especially my neice who is highly picky. This recipe made it to the recipe binder! I used paper towels in place of the terry towel. Only used approx. 6oz cream cheese and about that much sour cream. Forgot the butter, one of my guest said they were perfect without it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I was a little intimidated by the amount of fat the original recipe calls for, so I used the suggestions of others and bought fat-free sour cream and neufchatel cream cheese (33% less fat & softer than regular cream cheese). Before mixing them into the potatoes I tried the fat-free sour cream and it is TERRIBLE. It was time to cook so I quickly substituted Greek yogurt. Instead of adding a lot of butter at the end, I added three big pats to the top of the potatoes when they were nearly done. Instead of minced garlic, I roasted a bulb and mashed it into the mix. They were great! My husband, who has never had yogurt and never will, and probably can't even spell it, also thought they were great. I've never seen him not add butter to mashed potatoes before pouring on the gravy (one reason I only make mashed potatoes on Thanksgiving), but he didn't add butter to these and didn't miss it. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Enjoyed this method very much. Pretty much any mashed potato recipe could use this method. Keeping the potatoes warm in the slow cooker made serving time that much easier. No mashing at the last minute, etc. Just stir in that bit of butter and into a bowl they went. I didn't use a towel across the lid, and the potatoes were not soggy or wet. Didn't follow the recipe exactly. Had some shallot and chive Boursin so used that in place of the cream cheese. Worked out quite well. 8 thumbs up from our Thanksgiving dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
These mashed potatoes were good. What I liked best was making them ahead of time & keeping them warm in the slow cooker. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I found these to be better then any mashed potato I ever had or made. The entire gathering for thanksgiving thought these were the best too. I left out the chicken bullion. Is the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
These went over very well at Thanksgiving dinner. Absolutely loved them, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueshark77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Just made these for Thanksgiving. And from the mouths of my husband and my father "These are the best mashed potatoes I've ever eaten"!! I feel the same way! Followed the recipe to a "T" except I used golds since that's what I already had. Will never make potatoes another way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Very very good. I would make it this way again. Used a towel as suggested in another review. Didn't use as much butter as recipe called for also per another review. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 942) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States