Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Mashed potatoes were one of the dishes that I was asked to bring to Thanksgiving dinner at Mom's this year. I found this recipe here on AR. When I first read the ingredients list I wasn't sure about the cream cheese and the slow cooker method. I made them the night before and stored them in the refrigerator within the slow cooker crock with a towel between the lid and potatoes, as a few people suggested in their reviews. The next day I put the potatoes on low in the slow cooker for 3 hours, mixing in the butter after about 2 hours. I received many compliments. This is a great recipe for a special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnchamp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I actually mashed the potatoes, sour cream, and cream cheese in the crockpot. Saved washing another dish. Once in the crockpot, I only added maybe 1/4 cup of the reserved water. I used heavy cream, and boxed chicken broth to get it the consistency that I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly
Home Town: Russell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
They were good, but just a bit too rich for me. You could REALLY taste the cream cheese flavor. I loved everything about this recipe... Boiling the potatoes in bullion was so smart. I liked the idea of using both sour cream and cream cheese, I have always used sour cream and heavy whipping cream for extra creaminess. If I try this recipe again, I think I will cut the cream cheese in 1/2, otherwise I'll omit the cream cheese altogether will only use sour cream and heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Prepped it the night before. My wife got mad because she saw the bouillon cubes in the potatoes as they were boiling and thought I was going to ruin one of the things she loves about Thanksgiving. I would recommend putting them on longer in the slow cooker in the morning at the low temp. I cranked it up to high for the last hour and they were warm, but not toasty war. I had no problem with moisture either. The taste was amazing! Definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was a great recipe, however, I added extra broth to the crockpot to avoid drying out and cut the second addition of butter because I forgot it. They turned out pretty tasty regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Easy, Delicious. only challenge was they didn't heat up well in the slow cooker. I also saved the potato broth and used to thin it out a bit the next day. worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
They did not taste much different than the ones I usually make, but it's the convenience of being able to make them ahead of time, taking one chore off my busy Thanksgiving cooking schedule that caused me to rate it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good. Used my usual recipe,stayed very moist. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
to tell you what happened many yrs ago, my sister put the mashed potatos in the crock pot, on low for an hr, it was a first time, no pc or cell phones at this time, when she opened the lid, they were like glue or wallpaper paste, unedible, never did that again, we just make sure that the potato's are done last then mashed, while making the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I simplified this recipe to just potatoes, sour cream, milk/cream, butter and salt/pepper...and then put into a greased 5 quart slow cooker insert and refrigerated. 4 hours before serving time I placed the insert into the slow cooker and cooked on low for about 4 hours. Freed up the stove top and came out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GothCrone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bournemouth, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 931) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States