Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This turned out great. Everyone enjoyed them this way. It was nice to have them already done and hot.I will definitely use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aptos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I agree with this rating, but only assigned 4 stars, because despite following the tip to use the towel under the lid to keep the condensation from dripping on to the potatoes, after they had sad for a while, they were too soft for my liking. I also think the instructions should mention that using a hand mixer will help create the smooth fluffy texture most prefer. I would add less of the boullion cooking water at the beginning, leaving the potatoes thicker than I want them to be at serving time. Once the sour cream and cream cheese melt, the consistency changes. We left out the garlic, but everyone REALLY liked them, and it was a huge advantage to make them in advance, keep them warm, and free up the stove using the slow cooker. Superb flavour, and the boullion cooking water into the gravy was also a great addition. Thanks for sharing...everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made with yellow unskinned potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I just made the potatoes for Thanksgiving. They were fantastic. I made them early and then put them in the crockpot. I was worried that they would be dry but they actually got creamier as they cooked. And the flavor was fantastic, I used yukon golds because they make the creamiest mashed potatoes. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
These potatoes are so delicious! I will make them every time we have a big family meal. I doubled the recipe and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made these this morning for Thanksgiving. I am going to follow other suggestions I took them out of fridge at 11am and let them sit for an hour to warm up and then covered the crock with a clean kitchen towel and cooked for 3 hours. I added a little more of the reserved liquid and stirred them a few times while they were cooking in crock pot. I doubled this recipe using 10 pounds of red potatoes, and this filled up my large crock pot (I'm cooking for 30). I decided to add 3 pounds of cooked crumbled bacon and have already added some salt and white pepper, they taste amazing. I reserved a lot of the cooking liquid and I used about two cups when first mashing the potatoes. This is the easiest way I have found to make mashed potatoes for a huge crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Absolutely great. Made it for Thanksgiving . What a time saver. I did not peel the potatoes. I used Yukon gold potatoes. I made it the night before then heated in crockpot for 3 hours . My son in law who is very picky even liked them & thought I was soo smart for fixing them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Steiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is such a time saver during the holiday meals. The change I made was to roast 2 heads of garlic and use that instead of the minced garlic. Garlic in a jar or fresh minced can't hold a candle to roasted garlic. You may want to cut it to one head if you aren't a big fan, but I always use 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Love this recipe! I cook for 15 on Thanksgiving and roast 2 turkeys with 2 types of stuffing. I need my stove and my wits about me so I appreciate any help to make it better and easier. I double this recipe and make it the night before so all I have to do in the morning is get it out, let it sit for an hour or so to warm, then put it in the crock pot for 2-3 hours with occasional stirring and adding left over juice. I've never needed the butter. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 994) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States