Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I make this every Thanksgiving. Everyone raves, and it practically cooks itself. My very "set in his ways" Dad always requests it! I throw a few mashed turnips in as well because he loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttteri66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Delicious for our Thanksgiving meal and so nice to make ahead! I used 10 pounds of Russet Potatoes. Followed the recipe part of the way, however, I cut out lots of unwanted fat grams. The garlic and broth makes a wonderful flavor. I did use one can of reduced soduim chicken broth instead of the 3 cubes. (When potatoes are ready for draining... SAVE the water flavor for your gravy. It really adds a nice taste.) I beat the potatoes with only 2 cups of reduced sour cream and flavored with salt and pepper. Refrigerated overnight, the next day I warmed them slightly in the microwave, and placed in a crock pot on low stirring them once in a while. Using a terry cloth towel between potatoes and lid does help keep the water drippings off the potatoes when lifting up the lid as someone else suggested. Add your gravy to the potatoes and you have one awesome tasting side dish!!! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This recipe is so easy. And absolutely delicious. I made these a day ahead and then put in the crock pot 2 hours before Thanksgiving dinner was ready. I did use russet instead of red potatoes and I did peel the potatoes. Just one less thing to worry about Thanksgiving Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
These mashed Potatoes are AMAZING. I make them every year for Thanksgiving and as a side occasionally. I highly suggest, because I feel that I am a mashed potato connoisseur :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I always make the potatoes the night before using a recipe similar to this. The only difference is... I add a packet of dry ranch dressing mix. It adds great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I've been making this for years and always have an empty pan. Sometimes it gets served right after cooking without going in the crock pot and that's fine also. Since I'm lucky enough to have a large gathering on holidays, having the potatoes done and in the crock pot at serving time is a bonus and it lets the flavors really come together. If you're not a big fan of garlic or don't happen to have any on hand....leave it out. It's still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These are so good! I was planning on making them for Thanksgiving. Then out of the blue I decided to make potatoes-- I never make potatoes! So I tested out this recipe before the big day. I used 1/2 of the potatoes, 1/2 of the other ingredients, and broth instead of boullion cubes. Somehow my potato masher had disappeared (probably ran away to someone who would actually use it) so I whipped the ingredients together with my mixer. Everyone raved! I will have to make these frequently! And get a new masher. Can't wait until Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
These were the best mashed potatoes I have ever made. My family loved them. They were rich and creamy. I didn't need to put them in the crockpot since we ate them right away but I'll never make them any other way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I found it too rich and didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The best recipe will not use another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 949) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States