Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made with yellow unskinned potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I just made the potatoes for Thanksgiving. They were fantastic. I made them early and then put them in the crockpot. I was worried that they would be dry but they actually got creamier as they cooked. And the flavor was fantastic, I used yukon golds because they make the creamiest mashed potatoes. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
These potatoes are so delicious! I will make them every time we have a big family meal. I doubled the recipe and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made these this morning for Thanksgiving. I am going to follow other suggestions and take them out of fridge at 11am and let them sit for an hour to warm up then going to cover the crock with the clean kitchen towel and cook for 3 hours. I doubled this recipe using 10 pounds of red potatoes, and this filled up my large crock pot (I'm cooking for 30). I decided to add 3 pounds of cooked crumbled bacon and have already added some salt and white pepper, they already taste amazing. I reserved a lot of the cooking liquid and I used about a cup maybe a little more, I have saved some more in the fridge in case I need to add a little while the potatoes are in the crock pot. So far this is the easiest way I have found to make mashed potatoes for a huge crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Absolutely great. Made it for Thanksgiving . What a time saver. I did not peel the potatoes. I used Yukon gold potatoes. I made it the night before then heated in crockpot for 3 hours . My son in law who is very picky even liked them & thought I was soo smart for fixing them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Steiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is such a time saver during the holiday meals. The change I made was to roast 2 heads of garlic and use that instead of the minced garlic. Garlic in a jar or fresh minced can't hold a candle to roasted garlic. You may want to cut it to one head if you aren't a big fan, but I always use 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Love this recipe! I cook for 15 on Thanksgiving and roast 2 turkeys with 2 types of stuffing. I need my stove and my wits about me so I appreciate any help to make it better and easier. I double this recipe and make it the night before so all I have to do in the morning is get it out, let it sit for an hour or so to warm, then put it in the crock pot for 2-3 hours with occasional stirring and adding left over juice. I've never needed the butter. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I adjusted the recipe for 8 lbs. of potatoes and it filled my large slow cooker very nicely. I added much more garlic and a few tablespoons of Montreal Steak Seasoning. I also added heavy cream ( a luxury because these potatoes were for a wedding celebration) until nice & creamy. I cooked on high for about an hour and then switched to low for about three more hours. I did use the towel on top underneath the lid and it really makes a difference in capturing the moisture. I also stirred the potatoes about once each hour and added about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese towards the end. I forgot to add the butter but it was not missed. The potatoes were excellent and were gone quickly at the party. So easy but so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I am 44 yrs old and cook a lot, but have avoided making mashed potatoes. I always assign that task to someone else on Thanksgiving! This recipe is wonderful and my 14 yr old just said, "it gets better with each taste." I don't know what to compare it to, but I love that it can go in the slow cooker...and the flavors were all enhanced during the time it was in the slow cooker. A couple of comments - I hate not knowing exactly how much liquid to add - I wanted at least a ball park idea (I used 1 1/4 cups...was that enough?...I was afraid to use too much). I used a potato masher, but it still left small chunks of potatoes and wasn't totally smooth. I happened to love that, but it was off putting to my 11 yr old daughter. Overall, I feel like it was missing something, but not sure what...next time I will definitely add more garlic. Also, it takes much much longer than 15 minutes to prepare 5 lbs of potatoes!! You have to wash, cut (and peel if you have picky eaters), then boil water and THEN cook them for 15 minutes, and finally mash and add all the extras. All of that takes closer to 45 minutes...but I'm a novice mashed potato maker. I accidentally added the butter before the slow cooker and it was fine. Next time I will put the potatoes in the mixer to get a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 962) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States