Slow Cooker Maple Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Made this the other day for my husband who is strictly a grilled rib man, he loved it and so did I! Great flavor. I took the advice of another poster and used 1/3 cup syrup & soy sauce, as the recipe just didn't seem like enough liquid. Came out great - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dryden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Love this recipe! So simple, yet so delicious. But, I did make some changes. I followed others advice, used 1/3 cup of maple syrup and soy sauce, but I also added 2 cups of beef broth, so that the meat was completely covered. This eliminated the dryness experienced with my first two tries on this recipe, but retained the fall-off-the-bone tenderness. Also, the broth didn't dillute the flavors, as the 2 cups of water did on try #2. This is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Hubby made this tonight. DEFINITELY not bbq! reminded us of "Cincinnati chili". twas awesome! highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKEDHAZEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I think I need a new slow cooker. This came out kinda tough for me. But the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondjme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Very yummy recipe. I too followed others advice and increased the soy sauce and maple syrup (I used 1/3 cup of each). I used the low sodium soy sauce which was great because it added the right amount of sodium to the ribs. Prior to cooking the ribs, I used all of the dry ingredients as a dry rub and added some chopped onions since I didn't have onion powder. I let it sit for about an hour and I think it added to the flavors. One thing though, I set the cooker for 10 hours so it would cook extra slow while I was away. Good thing I came home early because the ribs were done by the time I got home which was 4 hours after I started cooking them (they were probably done in 3.5 hours). The meat was literally falling off. It was the right amount of sweet, not too sweet which was good. Next time I think I really need to be home to check them (sort of defeats the whole leave it for several hours concept) but I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Riverdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I thought this recipe turned out good. It was a nice change from the usual way I woiuld make country style ribs by just drenching the meat in BBQ sauce and letting it simmer all day. The only change I made was to first add some BBQ sauce at the bottom of the Crock Pot in order to provide a little more liquid. I also used a fresh onion instead of dry. After it was done the sauce tasted great and the ribs were tender with great flavor. I'd definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made these last night & woke up to the best smell this a.m. I didn't read any of the reviews beforehand. The combination of spices sounded good so I thought I'd try it. I had plenty of juice & the ribs fell off the bones. They are very, very good. Now that I have made them I read some of the suggestions. The only thing I would do differently, I think, is to double the syrup to give it a bit more of a sweet taste. I didn't have regular maple syrup - only lite. Other than that I think they're perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was a very strange recipe to make. I followed it just like it said. It had such a sweet smell cooking that I never thought that it would end up tasting good, but it did. It wasn't what we were expecting but it is a nice change from everything being smothered in BBQ sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was delicious! The only change I made was Worcestershire sauce instead of soy sauce. I used boneless pork ribs and I did it on High for three hours. I must admit that the others scared me so I added more syrup on the top. They even "browned" on the parts touching the crockpot. p.s. mine is the original old model crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I have lost my dry rub recipe and I'm trying to find a replacement. This sounded pretty good, but I think I'll go back to dry rubs. Too messy - although ribs are kinda supposed to be messy, huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States