Slow Cooker Manly Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This is the only recipe for beef stew and/or pot roast that we use since my original review in 2003! I've used it since the first day I found it here on allrecipes and my entire family just LOVES the gravy that it makes!!! After making stew with it, I decided to make the same gravy mix & put it over pot roast with equally delicious results. Can't say enough good about it...whenever I make it for company, they go crazy over it & say it's the BEST they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This certainly was easy, and did indeed make a nice brown gravy! We enjoyed it, but I would say it's more like a beef-stroganoff, as there are no vegetables included in the stew. I substitued low-fat cream of mushroom soup for the regular; I would have also done the same for the cheddar cheese soup but I couldn't locate the low-fat version. I also couldn't find the beef-onion dry soup mix, so I had to use the basic onion soup instead. I used only 2 lbs. of stew meat, as I was only cooking for the two of us. I served it over garlic mashed potatoes, with a side of steamed asparagus. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This was easy and now one of our favorites. I made the recipe exactly as the directions said but used low sodium mushroom soup and it was great. I gave this recipe out at work and they came up with 3 other versions. 1. Use the spicy cheddar cheese soup version without the beefy onion soup. 2. Add 1/2 a cup of wine to the original recipe. 3 Marinate the beef overnight in wine and season salt. Each person loved it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This is a great slow cooker recipe. I add carrots, celery and potatoes during the last part of cooking to take care of the saltyness. We fight over the leftovers(if there are any) Also use low soduim and low fat soups where possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My husband loved this stew. I used cream of celery soup because Ilike the flavor better. I also added potatoes and carrots. Very delicious and couldn't be easier to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This was super easy and super yummy! Tasted even better left over. Next time I will add mushrooms and sour cream and serve over noodles. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Terrific recipe! The only change I made was to brown the meat before putting it in the crock-pot. Next time I will make a point of using low-sodium soups, as this was a litte bit salty for my taste. But a definite keeper!! Served it with mixed frozen vegetables and garlic mashed potatoes. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Followed recipe to the letter but added 1/2 chopped white onion, 2 crushed gloves of garlic and a small red pepper finely chopped. Served with mashed potatoes. We really enjoyed the dish and definitely will prepare it regularly, expecially on cold evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This was very simple and tasted pretty good. I'm sure it would be great over mashed potatoes, but I didn't want to take the time so I served over egg noodles. The beef chunks of stew meat were too big, so for the leftovers I shredded the beef in my food processor and I liked that much better. This recipe made so much, that I not only fed my family but took it to my neighbors to have as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Great served over hot egg noodles-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States