Slow Cooker Manly Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This certainly was easy, and did indeed make a nice brown gravy! We enjoyed it, but I would say it's more like a beef-stroganoff, as there are no vegetables included in the stew. I substitued low-fat cream of mushroom soup for the regular; I would have also done the same for the cheddar cheese soup but I couldn't locate the low-fat version. I also couldn't find the beef-onion dry soup mix, so I had to use the basic onion soup instead. I used only 2 lbs. of stew meat, as I was only cooking for the two of us. I served it over garlic mashed potatoes, with a side of steamed asparagus. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Followed recipe to the letter but added 1/2 chopped white onion, 2 crushed gloves of garlic and a small red pepper finely chopped. Served with mashed potatoes. We really enjoyed the dish and definitely will prepare it regularly, expecially on cold evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This is sooo easy and sooo tasty. I made it with deer meat and egg noodles. Will definately make again. I can't wait to make it for the friend that supplies me with venison!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
very quick and easy! Even my husband could make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This was easy and now one of our favorites. I made the recipe exactly as the directions said but used low sodium mushroom soup and it was great. I gave this recipe out at work and they came up with 3 other versions. 1. Use the spicy cheddar cheese soup version without the beefy onion soup. 2. Add 1/2 a cup of wine to the original recipe. 3 Marinate the beef overnight in wine and season salt. Each person loved it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
So easy to make. Loved the flavor. Will make it again. Great comfort food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Terrific recipe! The only change I made was to brown the meat before putting it in the crock-pot. Next time I will make a point of using low-sodium soups, as this was a litte bit salty for my taste. But a definite keeper!! Served it with mixed frozen vegetables and garlic mashed potatoes. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This was very simple and tasted pretty good. I'm sure it would be great over mashed potatoes, but I didn't want to take the time so I served over egg noodles. The beef chunks of stew meat were too big, so for the leftovers I shredded the beef in my food processor and I liked that much better. This recipe made so much, that I not only fed my family but took it to my neighbors to have as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Extremely easy; very tender and it makes a wonderful gravy! My very picky 13yo LOVED it! I added some frozen peas at the very end. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Yuk! This made a really rich and nice smelling brown gravy which I served over biscuits, but it was too salty for me and didn't taste as good as it smelled. My kids didn't like it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States