Slow Cooker Manly Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
3 lbs of beef is perfect mixture. served over mashed potatoes. nate loved it. very tender beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe was good but it could have used a little something. I followed it to the letter except I used low salt cream of mushroom soup and I added a little black pepper for snap. I worried that there would not be enough liquid in this mixture but it made its own broth very nicely without adding anything extra. I will make it again but in the future I will add carrots and in the last hour some frozen peas. Also this recipe could use some seasonings to make it more interesting. I'm still an absolute beginner so I couldn't give you any advice there. If you know what you're doing though don't be afraid to add your own flair to it. Just DON'T add salt. If you do you'll be sorry, it was plenty salty the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSomeLady

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom because of personal preference. It came out good but it didn't really wow me or the BF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I will be making this one again because my family really loved it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **coffeelady**
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Fantastic!! Quote from child, "Mom, of ALL the new recipes you have tried, this is the BEST!" "You can make this again and again!" I will make with mash potatoes next time...there is so much wonderful gravy for the potatoes to soak up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
the best stew ever! i have even replaced the onion soup mix w/ a package of dry gravy mix. SO SO yummy and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomofT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
My family really liked this recipe. I added a bit of water because I thought it would be too thick, but I don't know that I needed too. We served it over mashed potatoes. Since we aren't big leftovers fan, I put the rest in a pot pie for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I used only 2 lbs of stew meat, reduced-sodium cream of mushroom soup and added a couple of splashes of red cooking wine. I seasoned the meat with garlic powder and flour, seared it in oil, and then cooked on high for about 4 1/2 hours, adding sliced carrots, mushrooms, and frozen peas with pearl onions during the last hour of cooking. The meat came out fairly tender, but I think it's always best to cook on low heat in a crockpot if time permits. This made plenty of gravy and had a nice flavor - with the vegetables, it reminded me of pot roast. Easy and tasty - my husband ate it open-faced on a thick slice of bread with mashed potatoes, and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
DELICIOUS stew. Made this Sunday night while craving a good cold weather meal (had to take advantage of the fact it was actually chilly here) and it definitely did not disappoint. As others suggested I threw in some potaotes, carrots, and a little bit of chopped garlic. It was super filling, but so delicious I made my way back into the kitchen for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very, very good. Made a nice sauce. Excellent over egg noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States