Slow Cooker Manly Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I took this to a friend's to feed a crowd (about 25 folks). Everyone LOVED it. I was a little nervous as it was the first time I had tried the recipies. I was pleasantly surprised as was my family. Nothing came home with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
The flavor was okay but this is not "Manly" by any means. I had to add cooked carrots, mashed potatoes, egg noodles, and garlic bread and my husband cleaned his plate without feeling full at all! It's more like a stroganoff, as another reviewer said. A wonderful stroganoff recipe is at allrecipes.com Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff by Jessica... highly recommend if that's what you're looking for. This just wasn't enough for us. Sorry! It was very easy and really wanted to like it. Just not at all what we expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Excellent and simple. The only deviations I made was adding fresh mushrooms and used the slow cooker. We served over hot noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very yummy. But it is really more like stroganoff than stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great Recipe, husband actually ate for 3 meals straight and he is not one for leftovers!! I did add potatoes & carrots. Doesn't get any easier than this! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
For those of you skeptical of trying this recipe...don't be. I made it this evening for my husband and 2 year old. We all loved it. in facet, my husband commented that he could not believe this started as cream of mushroom soup and cheddar cheese soup. It tasted like a good homemade stew. We did add 2 diced potatoes, some chopped carrots and frozen peas. Again, we loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I have tried beef stew recipe after recipe to find "the one", and my search is finally over. I added some potatoes, celery, and baby carrots and it was amazing! Couldn't be easier, and it's the best stew I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Cheap, easy and surprisingly delicious! I chopped some potatoes and just cooked them along with the beef, and then made egg noodles and served it all together. I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calophi
Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was so easy to throw together! We loved the gravy...the best part! Served with mashed potatoes and a veggie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was really good and super easy. I added 2 potatoes, 3 small carrots, an onion, a few stalks of celery, a few splashes of red wine (1/4-1/2 cup I didn't measure), and 2 1/2 tbsp of tapioca to thicken it up a bit. I think I'll add a bit more next time as it was still a little runny due to adding the wine. Made the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States