Slow Cooker Manly Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I am going to go ahead and give this a 5 despite it being a bit salty. I will use low sodium soups next time to fix that. This is a delicious and extremely versatile recipe. Add vegis as you like or leave it plain, serve over noodles or potatoes or polenta. It is soooooooo delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was okay. Just very salty! Maybe by adding potatos/ carrots /mushroom it would cut down on the salt factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
this was easy to prepare so thats why i gave it a 3 star but taste is another story did not like it at all used low sodium mushroom soup still way to salty also the meat tasted like canned meat no one in my house liked this at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Great! I'm not a fan of cheese, so I subbed in cream of celery instead, still greatness! Super easy, great results, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Super easy and VERY tasty! Great gravy. :) I think next time I'd add a can of mushrooms to it. We served this over egg noodles, I think it would be even better over creamy mashed potatoes (next time)! :) My son gobbled it up and wanted seconds. :) I only used about 3/4 a packet of onion soup mix to help cut down on the saltiness and didn't find this salty at all. The meat is really tender and I'm looking forward to leftovers! :) (I did find this to be very much like stroganoff, but could see adding the potatoes, carrots, etc. making it easier to "see" as a stew)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was a very good base recipe. I was looking for something different to put in the slow cooker and tried this one because I had everything on hand. After reading reviews we eat low/ no salt diet and I was afraid that the dry soup mix would make it too salty but IT DID NOT. I added a splash of red wine a little green pepper, potatoes, carrots & mushrooms. Served on top of rice and DH could not stop raving about it. Next time I will not add potatoes and will serve it on mashed potatoes. There will be a next time as this will go on our meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Sooooo good, easy, nice thick gravy and melt in your mouth meat. YUM! My 21 yr old son LOVE's this stew. I have to say I was a little reluctant to try this but it had such good reviews and now I see why. The only minor change I made was I didn't have beef with onion soup mix (so I used what I had) one pkg Lipton (2.0 oz) dry soup mix and one cube Knorr's beef bouillon. I also added one large onion sliced (I love onion's) the rest I followed to a T. I served it over egg noodles which we really liked, this time I'm going to try it over white rice. Thank you for such a good and easy recipe this is going into my top 10 favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was good. I would make it again but I may add a bit more seasoning. It actually tasted better the following day warmed up. I did add potatoes and carrots and the meet was melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is the only beef stew I'll make. Throw in some beef cubes (sometimes I'll brown them first if I'm feeling really ambitious), mix in the 2 soups and dried onion soup mix, set on Low in crock-pot for 8 hours and we're good to go. I usually throw in some pre-cooked potatoes and carrots around the 6hr mark. Whip up some biscuits and dinner is done! My only suggestion is not to add any salt because the onion soup mix is salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Delicious! Took the advice of others and added potatoes and carrots. Served over noodles as it turned out a little thin. But overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Craig, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States