Slow Cooker Manly Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Very good but keep in mind it will be a bit salty as both cans of soup and powdered onion/beef has tons of sodium. But the flavor is very good. I added thinly sliced carrots, celery at the beginning and peas at the end to make it a complete meal. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I must admit, I was very surprised by how yummy this was. I was really worried about combining cheddar cheese soup with mushroom soup to make a beef stew. But this was absolutley fantastic. I didn't have onion soup mix, so left that out, Added a can of chicken broth, some salt, pepper, celery seed, onion powder, and thyme (I don't measure, sorry), carrots, and potatoes and it was really tasty and the gravy was perfect. Quick, easy, and ingredients that I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I was extremely surprised how good this recipe was - I added veggies as others have and it became a great stew. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very good and takes no to prepare, we followed the recipe as written, I think next time we will add some veggies like carrots and/or potatoes to make it more traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Baillargeon

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very easy and tastes great. I used venison meat just because we had on hand, and served over spirial noodles, which held the gravy well. My personal opinion is that the onion soup mix has a tendency to make recipes taste the same when used. Other than that, it's a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was pretty good. I did saute some green peppers and onions in about 1/4 cup butter first. Used leftover roast beef, so I just cooked it on the stovetop in my dutch oven. Cooked up some egg noodles and added them to the pot. I added 1 cup water and 1 tsp beef bullion to compensate for the lack of liquids raw meat would have produced. I also added a little garlic powder. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a fantastic base recipe! Like others I added some potatoes and carrots. I also replaced the can of cheddar cheese soup with a 2nd can of cream of mushroom. I then added 2 pinches of crushed red pepper flakes and set my slow cooker on high for the recommended time. I did add a little bit of water, maybe 1/4 cup to thin it out just a little to what I consider stew consistency. In the last hour I added a can each of green beans, corn and sliced mushrooms (all drained) and half a bag of frozen peas. My fiancee kept commenting on how good it smelled while it was cooking. And it tasted fantastic! The red pepper flakes added a wonderful, light spice to the whole thing. With my additions this reminded me of a stew my mom would make when I was a kid called Cowboy Stew. Will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephicus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
So easy and extremely tasty! This will now be on my meal rotation. The crock pot was on for 8 hours total on low. A little less then 2 hours before it was done I added diced potatoes and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LettersToElijah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
1/2ed the recipe---served over bread and mashed potatoes- SO GOOD! will make again. the gravy it makes is to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piiswoman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very tasty and so easy and versatile. I added potatoes which were wonderful, but next time I will add carrots and celery and serve over egg noodles. You can't go wrong with this recipe. Yum! Thank you so very much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States