Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I modified this recipe like many other users did. I made mine with 16 oz. of velveeta, and 10 oz. for regular orange cheddar. I did use the evaporated milk, and i did increase the salt just a little. I cooked my noodles a little bit. I didn't cook them all the way to al dente, but i was leary about putting them in uncooked. I boiled them probably for about 3 minutes. The mac n cheese came out awesome. Made it on a Sunday morning to eat with football in the afternoon. Was very rich, but we like it that way. If you don't, subs reg milk for evap milk. It's easy. Watch and stir though, it can burn on the bottom. I cooked the cheese, milk, egg and seasoning for about 30 min before adding my hot pasta. Then i cooked on High about 1.5 hours. Then i turned it to low. It was done and ready to eat, I just kept it warm. Next time I will add some pepper. That's it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This turned out pretty good, but I added alot more to it. For one I did not cook the macaroni before I put it in the crock pot so the noodles did not get soggy. I also added some mozzerella cheese, parasean, and cream cheese. Put some worstchire sauce in it too with some diced onions and some dry mustard.The kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I made this recipe for a mid-day office pitch-in. I started it in the morning and thought it would be fine until lunch time. It had started to dry out by the time it was ready to be served. I would not recommend cooking for longer than 3 hours. I also did not cook my noodles and they were perfect. At the suggestion of another reviewer I used Velveeta instead of Cheddar. Overall a really good recipe. Just be careful of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
This is a very easy recipe, a snap, but very, very rich. My kids and my husband found it too rich. I plan to make it again, but modify it by cutting back a bit on the cheese and decreasing the evaporated milk, substituting with regular milk. Also, unlike other crock pot dishes, this cannot be left too long over 3 hours or it does begin to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
If my husband could only have one meal before he died, this would be the choice for him. If I've got this in the slow cooker when he comes home his eyes light up and I get an extra big hug, LOL! I make with no changes. Love, love, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
The cheese was clumpy so my 6 year old wouldn't eat it but others thought it was wonderful and couldn't get enough. Tasted great although I did use sharp and extra sharp cheddar cheese. Probably only cooked for 2 hours after adding macaroni. Then as it remained in the crock pot until everyone finished eating the sides and bottom did get darker, not burnt, just a little brown and chewy. That I think is the best part, tasted wonderful, like the top of the macaroni and cheese you would cook in the oven. Thanks for the recipe, it reminds me so much of a local restaurant's mac and cheese, that closed several years ago. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I liked how easy this was to prepare, but it was way too salty and almost too rich. I would recommend the following adjustments: * 1 c. condensed milk mixed with 1 c. regular milk * 1/4 to 1/2tsp. salt (if using Velveeta cheese) * 2 1/2 c. cheese (if using Velveeta) * reduce cook time to 1 hour after pasta is added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
"YUM" I made this for a carry-in and my co-workers loved it. They have asked me to bring it back numerous times. Some have asked for the recipe for their own get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
Very easy, I have made this 3 times and my kids do not like it for some reason. I think it's ok, maybe a little bland. I used way more cheese than needed because my family loves cheese but it was still missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I made this with Velveeta cheese for a luncheon baby shower. It went over VERy well. The leftovers were eaten for dinner that night. I have already ahd requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERRINOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States