Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Beyond mushy noodles (even though I boiled AND cooked for less time than recommended), not at all creamy, and pretty bland, aside from the salty flavor. I won't even try to alter this recipe to make it better; it needs too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This recipe was great but definitely needed a few modifications on timing! Also, make sure you have time to stir it every 45 min-1 hour (or more frequently) so it doesn't burn! Here is how I made it and it turned out well... probably a little rich so next time I will use only regular milk and no evaporated milk but that's a personal preference. Anyway, I used: 12 oz evaporated milk (can) with 1/4 cup skim milk since the can didn't come in a 16 oz size, 2 tsp salt (could've used a dash of pepper), 1 egg beaten, 2 tbsp butter, 1 block velveeta cheezse (32 oz), and just over 1/2 pound of elbow macaroni (~10 oz). I cooked the liquid ingredients for 1 hour stirring part of the way through. I then added uncooked macaroni at 1 hour and then only needed 2 hours to cook it...any longer and it would've burned/dried out. I would've probably been fine with 1.5 hours to keep it a little creamier but that's ok. I wasn't sure if the noodles would be softened by then. If you want a creamier variation, I would boil the noodles for 3-4 minutes and then only cook it for 1-1.5 hours after adding the noodles to the sauce. It turned out well! But like I said, it was a little rich so next time I will use only skim milk and no evaporated milk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I was surprised at how easy this recipe is and how good it turned out! I followed it exactly except for using 12 oz of evap milk and 4 oz of skim milk. This is definitely a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was an awesome recipe!!! Made exactly as stated but had to use the cheese on hand - which made absolutely no difference...I'm thinking. Used 1 C. of Velveeta (which I really don't care for but used it for it's creamy qualities, 1/2 C. Parmesan, 2 C. Sharp Sheddar and 2 slices of provolone. So sorry to say I couldn't post a picture because...simply said...it just didn't last around this house after serving.....Thank you for an awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I made this for a family get-together and it was a huge hit. I pre-cooked the pasta a bit and reduced the cook time as suggested by others and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I really hate giving something a bad review, but I was just so disappointed. I read all the bad reviews but I kept myself hopeful that mine would turn out well like some reviews, but it turned out terrible. I was fine with it looking bad and having that weird texture like so many people talked about, but what did me in for giving it a bad review was that it had next to zero flavor to it. If it looked good and had no flavor, or looked bad and had tons of flavor, I would be willing to try it again w/ some editing, but I think I'll find a different recipe for mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosShavaughn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I love this web-site and hate to give bad marks on anything, aside from using a reduced fat cheese I followed the recipe exactly. It came out so clumpy that I actually stopped cooking it after 2 hours and threw it away. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Way too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was a congealed mess by the end of the first hour after the macaroni was added. Poor texture, and almost no flavor. We tossed it out and made a box of kraft mac & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicoleg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raymond, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
The idea sounds great but what you get at the end is not so great. I did not care for it nor did my husband or toddler. I will stick to making it the old fashion way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondesuperwoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States