Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
It was really bad. It didn't even cook for an hour and it formed a hard goo ball, and when I tasted it, it didn't taste good at all. I do not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This turned out to be a great recipe. I was a bit concerned due to some of the negative feedback but I omitted the eggs and partially cooked the pasta. When I first looked at it after the allotted cooking time, there appeared to be a lot of liquid left on top, but when I stirred it, it was perfect. This makes a custard style mac and cheese and maybe some do not like a non-creamy style of mac and cheese. All my guests raved about it and there was none left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was a great base recipe. BUT, it does need tweeked! I put this in the crock pot on low and it was done in 2 hours. I also added a tsp of ground mustard (I always use it in my mac and cheese), used more milk and more cheese.......used extra sharp and colby. I will not use both eggs next time - maybe one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I really like the idea of macaroni and cheese made in the slow cooker. Great idea for the hot summer months--instead of heating up an oven, I can make it this way. I used to avoid making baked mac n cheese from June-September, but not anymore! *CHANGES MADE:I used two and a half cups of 2% fat milk and no condensed milk. I also used one cup of Velveeta that I shredded into the mixture (replacing one cup of the shredded cheddar). I highly recommend using at least one cup of Velveeta if you aren't an anti-Velveeta person. I used Lawry's seasoned salt, and just seasoned to taste (since we aren't on a salt restricted diet). I have a fairly new 5 quart slow cooker, so I cooked it on low for only 3 hours and the macaroni pasta was tender. It came out just as tasty as a baked macaroni and cheese dish! Next time I will buy some slow cooker liners because it was a little baked-on around the top edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
While the taste was okay, the texture was unappealing. Everything had congealed into one big mass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
this is very good. I did not have caned milk so I added extra regular milk. I went to my local cheese shop and found pizza cheese so I thought i would give that a try. it turned out very good, the pizza cheese added a kick to it, but it was too thick. it was good none the less. next time i think i will omit the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The taste is a little blah. I am going to add a little dry mustard or use New York Sharp Cheese. I used Sharp Cheddar Cheese. Do not care for the texture. The texture is strange! perhaps if the eggs were eliminated the texture would be more creamy. Some say the eggs are needed to prevent separation so will probably just cut out 1 egg. It is easy to prepare. Mine cooked fast. It was done in 2 hours. It was okay just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is the BEST Mac and Cheese I've ever had with a few exceptions. We double the recipe but use 3 cups of Cheddar, only one egg and ADD about 1/3 of a block of Velveeta. It's done way before 5 hours, I would say 3-4. If it gets dry I add a little milk. AND SOOOOO EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I love this mac & cheese recipe, although I cook the macaroni first and cut the cheese back to 3 cups; otherwise it's just like what my Mom made when we were kids. This is REAL food, folks, and if you're used to boxed mixes and fake foods (ever looked at the ingredient list on Velveeta? scary!), then, no, you won't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States