Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Made this for the first time today, with the following changes: 2 1/2 cups unflavored almond milk instead of cow's milk; 16 oz. macaroni instead of 8 oz.; 1 teaspoon ground mustard; 1 teaspoon paprika; 22 oz. Kraft shredded 3 cheddar mix (2 11 oz. packages). Followed the directions for mixing, etc. Put in our 6 qt. oval crockpot at 1 pm. Did not mix or lift the lid. Checked it at 4 pm - it was ready to go. Turned off the crockpot. My daughter got home around 5. Other than the macaroni getting a little gummy from standing for an hour before serving, it was really good. We agreed that it is a keeper, and will be making it again soon. Great way to do mac & cheese in the summer. Prep time cut down almost to nothing compared with making oven baked. The almond milk gives it a different taste. We have 2 family members with lactose problems, so do not use cow's milk except for making yogurt. Tasty and very easy. Easy cleanup, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I've made this recipe many times now and we really like it--sometimes adding this and that, sometimes not. If you're looking for a mac and cheese that is NO effort, this is your recipe. Yes, its custardy and a little dryer than one using Velveeta but it's healthier than most, too, esp. if you use whole wheat macaroni. I use evaporated skim milk, farm fresh eggs and 2% cheddar cheese. I also only cook it for 3 to 4 hrs. if I'm using my 7 qt. cooker--more if using my 3 qt. cooker (maybe more like 4 or 5 hrs.). Does the recipe taste like the super high fat, high salt, low protein versions out there? No!! Is is really great and a kid pleaser? ABSOLUTELY!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
wasnt bad, just to dry for my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Excellent, easy recipe. I did not cook my macaroni before placing it in my slow cooker and it did great even though I had my doubts. I dislike it when people change a recipe completely and then rate it. I made this recipe exactly as written and I'm very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shlbycindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
It was delicious and I doubled ingredients to bring to a big cookout...next time will use less egg or something to make it less "solid". It didn't turn out very pretty visually, but everyone ate the heck out of it and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was pretty good. I used only 1 egg and 3 cups of cheese (minus the cheese on top). I also added a touch of hot sauce (to taste). It was great leftover and reheated too. I also added a cup of ham chunks to make it a roundabout meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Way too oily, not worth how much time it took to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronica Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very Good just made it for the second time and got rave reviews! I did make some alterations to the recipe as many others have done and they have been good both times. I only used one egg ( still sets up custard style) added 1/2 tsp of paprika and 1/2 tsp of dry mustard and par boiled noodles for 3 minutes, but have done the both ways and has worked fine both times. It only needs to cook for 3 hrs on low-medium I stirred after first hour and no sticking or burning! Definitely will be using this as my easy mac and cheese recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I should have read the reviews before I made this. It looked unappealing when it was done which I should have left out the eggs. It wasnt creamy and left a bad aftertaste :( If we make it again, I will change it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trsweetheart
Living In: Danville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
used 1/2 container of velveeta. cooked from 10 to 4. VERY soggy!! Noodles were like mush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States