Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I may possibley make this again if I make some significant changes. I love the idea of crock pot mac-n-cheese but this version was terrible in my opinion. It was lumpy and very "eggy" which I should have known with having to add 2 eggs. It was also very oily because of the shredded cheese. I should have read the other reviews before making this but I just made it as is. It was edible and my family did eat it, but did not rave about it at all. Next time I will omit the eggs, use a different type of cheese, add some additional spices, and not put the cheese on the top until later. Good luck anyone trying to make this. I will come back again to look for different ideas with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merziedotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
YUMMY!! I use this recipe during the holidays, just start it up and put it to the side so that I can do the rest of my holiday cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This dish is lucky to be getting one star! I didn't cook the macaroni, and cooked it on HIGH for about 2 hours. Big mistakes because it came out rubbery! I'm generally a homemade stove-top mac n' cheese cook and I think I'll stick to doing it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Unlike many others I really enjoyed this recipe almost as is. The only thing I did differently was use 1 egg instead of 2. I also put it on the crock pot for 90 minutes to 2 hours on high. This was great. I like a more custard-like macaroni coming from the south.I honestly think it was set up enough without a second egg. The only thing I feel like it was missing some type of seasoning. I didn't have paprika on hand, but I bet that would of made if 5 stars instead of 4! Great base recipe though very cheesy. It was winner for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StardustSteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I did a few modifications to taste, however...it's a great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I followed this exactly as written, and it was GREAT! I grew up with oven-baked "custard" mac-n-cheese. I wish everyone liked this, but I'm one who dislikes "creamy" mac-n-cheese. If I want that, I just make something from the grocery store. THIS is homemade mac-n-cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpsrabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe! I made it for my daugher's parent potluck dinner and it turned out great. I doubled the recipe and added 1 tsp dry mustard, 1 tsp paprika, and 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper to the mix. Several people have asked for the recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone asked for the recipe despite it being overcooked at the edges! Many reviewers here said it was not creamy. I can't stand really creamy mac&cheese (Stouffer's, eg). This is more cafeteria-style (kids love it!). Be careful with cooking time--KNOW your crockpot and whether you usually need to short time or add time. I made this the first time in a typical round pot--shouldn't have gone over 3-1/2 to 4 hours. Second time in an oval pot for 5 hours...perfect! Both times prepared using ingedients exactly as directed, but used SHARP cheddar cheese. Next time may add 1/2 tsp mustard powder just to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This recipe was so easy for a first-timer like me and it was a big hit! I made it for a baby shower and it was gone in 10 minutes. I cooked the macaroni for 5 minutes and cooked on high for 2 hours. I also added some minced onion and garlic. I took the advice not to stir and that was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Everyone lovest this mac & cheese whenever I make it. I do slightly cook the pasta before putting it into the crock pot. I also half the eggs to make it a little less custard like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States