Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
The cheese curdles when I made it this way. I really think you need to make a roux first before you start trying to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Not good at all. Dry and gritty. Will never, ever try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I did as others suggested and left out the egg as I did not want a custard style texture. I also just added 3 cups of cheese as was recommended by others but I think I will add the 4 cups next time. We enjoyed this overall, although mine did burn a little on the bottom and around the outside after cooking for 5 hours. I will cook for less time and maybe add some paprika or dry mustard as others have. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I may possibley make this again if I make some significant changes. I love the idea of crock pot mac-n-cheese but this version was terrible in my opinion. It was lumpy and very "eggy" which I should have known with having to add 2 eggs. It was also very oily because of the shredded cheese. I should have read the other reviews before making this but I just made it as is. It was edible and my family did eat it, but did not rave about it at all. Next time I will omit the eggs, use a different type of cheese, add some additional spices, and not put the cheese on the top until later. Good luck anyone trying to make this. I will come back again to look for different ideas with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merziedotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
YUMMY!! I use this recipe during the holidays, just start it up and put it to the side so that I can do the rest of my holiday cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This dish is lucky to be getting one star! I didn't cook the macaroni, and cooked it on HIGH for about 2 hours. Big mistakes because it came out rubbery! I'm generally a homemade stove-top mac n' cheese cook and I think I'll stick to doing it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Unlike many others I really enjoyed this recipe almost as is. The only thing I did differently was use 1 egg instead of 2. I also put it on the crock pot for 90 minutes to 2 hours on high. This was great. I like a more custard-like macaroni coming from the south.I honestly think it was set up enough without a second egg. The only thing I feel like it was missing some type of seasoning. I didn't have paprika on hand, but I bet that would of made if 5 stars instead of 4! Great base recipe though very cheesy. It was winner for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StardustSteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I did a few modifications to taste, however...it's a great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I followed this exactly as written, and it was GREAT! I grew up with oven-baked "custard" mac-n-cheese. I wish everyone liked this, but I'm one who dislikes "creamy" mac-n-cheese. If I want that, I just make something from the grocery store. THIS is homemade mac-n-cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpsrabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States