Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Cheesy! Cooked on low for 5 hours - formed a nice crust around the sides. That is the part we liked best. Also liked the fact that it did not look like it just came out of a box. Hubby will never settle for that substitute again when this dish is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made this yesterday, didn't add any eggs or the evaporated milk as others had suggested. So disappointed, it was terrible. Bland taste, grainy tasting noodles. I stirred it so it wouldn't burn, added more milk when needed. Horrible! Nothing but a big glob of mush, tried to eat what I could, threw the rest away! Can't imagine how it would turn out if it cooked longer than a couple of hours...mine was mush after two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
A quicker and easier way is to mix the same amount of ingredients but cook the macaroni FIRST then add to milk/cheese mixture; then turn the crockpot on low for an hour and a half and it's done! This saves me a lot of time when I need a side dish ASAP and don't have time for it to cook for 5-6 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Terrible. What a waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Absolutely delicious, just like homemade. I add dried mustard, cayenne pepper, onion powder, and dash of garlic to "kick it up a notch". But this recipe is perfect as is as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
It was good thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This worked well for me. I was skeptical since I have not done it without cooking the macaroni first. I did add melted butter to the recipe, about 2 T. I also just used whole milk, 3 C, rather than the milk and evaporated milk. My kids gobbled it up. I also like the eggs in the recipe, we don't mind that it is not a creamy mac and cheese. It's more of a sticky one. I accidentally left the crock pot on high and it cooked within 2 hours then started to burn. It did not curdle though, luckily someone was home to turn it to 'keep warm'. If you are used to Velveeta tasting mac n cheese you will think this recipe bland. We love the taste of it though, it is more like homemade. I like that this recipe does not require Velveeta or canned soup although I bet those are TASTY additions. We like to keep it without the additional processed foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I loved the idea of this recipe, but in actuality it isn't worth the ingredients. I make Macaroni and Cheese from scratch often (my boys have only had kraft maybe once when they visited their aunt) so I was expecting something resembling decently made macaroni and cheese. I followed the recipe as written, no additions or subtractions. I cooked it for five hours without opening as written, and the bottom was borderline burnt, it did turn out custard like (a very dry not tasty custard), the flavor was bland, the noodles were cooked evenly (without being precooked) which was a pleasant surprise as I was nervous about them not being cooked prior. It wasn't really cheesy (I'm not saying this because I expect veleveta)...Basically I have a house full of boys, and I cannot get anyone to eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very good and so easy. I only added one egg. I cooked on high for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made this last night and was really pleased with the results. The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp of dry mustard, 1/8 tsp of cayenne and a dash of nutmeg. I used my 6 quart crock pot so I started it on high for 30 mins and switched to low for 1 1/2 hours. I stirred it at 30 minutes and then at 1 hour. From that point I left it alone. I sprinkled the last cup of cheese on it about 20 minutes before serving. Both my Hubby and I really liked the taste and texture. It wasn't mushy at all and tasted like the macaroni and cheese we've eaten when traveling through the south. Very tasty and very easy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Battlement Mesa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States