Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I agree this recipe is getting a bad rap. I think many of those rating it are not use to traditional baked macaroni and cheese. I'm not arrogant enough to make tons of changes to a recipe I haven't tried yet, so I made it verbatim and found it easy and quite delightful. My entire family loved it, and that's rare. It reminded me of my Grandmother's recipe which is much more complicated. Thank you for sharing! It's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Made this according to the recipe except that I only used one egg, about 3 cups of sharp cheddar and about 1 1/2 cups of velveeta (our son tends to like that flavor), a few dashes of garlic salt, and a dash of ground mustard. Turned on high and in about 1 1/2 hrs. it was already bubbly and turning brown on the bottom. Switched to the warm setting until we were ready to eat. Definitely don't pre-cook the Mac as it would be mushy for sure! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Have made this many times now for a dish to pass on camping trips. Always a hit. I too leave out the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I love it! Who knew you could make mac and cheese in a slow cooker? I changed a few things due to stock on hand, and personal preferences. It still came out great. I used whole wheat rotini. We don't use milk, so I substituted with almond milk, and substituted evaporated milk with powdered buttermilk (I keep in fridge for recipes), then added 1/4 cup Parmesan. Omitted salt. Next time I will remember to add the mustard powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I have been making this since last year and my family loves it. I usually make one lb of macaroni and I add ham to make it a complete meal. I have tried it with one egg and two and I find it is good both ways. I usually have evaporated milk on hand so I have not tried it without it yet. I do increase the milk to 2 1/2 to 3 cups to accommodate for the extra macaroni. I use about 3 cups of cheese as well. Great basic recipe to tweak to your own taste. This is on my go to list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I use recipes as starting points and this one is great. I used one egg and only 3 cups of shredded cheddar. Combined that in the pre-sprayed crock with the uncooked macaroni and 1 lb. of cubed smoked ham, 1/2 cup minced onion and 1/2 cup minced green pepper and 1 T. Butter. Cooked on high for one hour then low for two hours. Perfect! I have an oval 6 quart slow cooker so times have been adjusted. Needed a main dish casserole. This shines! Very creamy and cheesy. Served with steamed fresh green beans and hoe cakes. Play with the recipe and make it yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Volo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Okay, so I made this today and it was delicious. I was very nervous because I put it all in the crock pot and then read the reviews. I'm going to simplify it for everyone right now: If you want SOUTHERN macaroni and cheese use this recipe. It tastes like you're at your grandmas house for Thanksgiving. I thought it turned out perfect, however, I only let it cook for four hours versus the recommended six. It is very moist and just what I wanted. Next time I might add half pepper jack cheese to spice it up a bit but overall I was very pleased with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookie
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
It burned and it's not creamy it's bland and has a weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
A solid stodgy mess, stuck to the sides of the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Lawrence
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
We where not impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States