Slow Cooker London Broil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
My family loved this. I love the rich flavor the tomato soup adds. Here's what I did the second time to make it perfect: -Used London Broil, not flank steak. -Add 1 tbl worcestershire -Add 1 tbl red wine vinegar -Mix all 3 soups together first. -Added some carrots and potatoes - To keep them from changing the flavor of the sauce and soaking most of it up, I place the veggies in some aluminum foil, fold the sides up to make a little boat and sit on top of the meat - I read this trick in a cooking magazine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1085 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA
Living In: Summerfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I had a cut of london broil in my freezer, and I have been eyeing this recipe for some time. Grilling the meat was out of the question since it is February and the dead of winter here. And that is the only way I have ever made london broil. I was attracted to this recipe because of the different ingredients used. So I figured I'd give this a try. I used low sodium tomato soup and low fat cream of mushroom soup, 2 splashes of Worcester sauce, 1 splash of wine as reviewers suggested. Also added only 1/3 of the onion soup mix and sliced baby portabellas, a chopped onion and carrots. The appearance, texture and aroma was not appetizing. My husband came in after it had been on for 7 hours and said "gee usually when I come home and your cooking it smells so GOOD what happened"? Yikes! I made mashed potatos as so many others suggested to serve this with and reluctantly we dug in. It was EXCELLENT. Wow. We were both so impressed and decided to add this to our regular rotation. The meat comes out very much like pot roast with a steak flavor, and the gravy, no matter what you think about it as it's cooking, it comes out so flavorful and tasty you will be tempted to just dunk some bread in it. Great recipe, and I recommend listen to others here and reducing the sodium content, adding veggies, it still is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
567 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
First of all I need to thank you for the easiest, tastiest crockpot dish ever. I actually planned to make it exactly as written but realized I opened a can of cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom soup by accident. I then just mixed the soups and dry onion soup mix together and poured it over the london broil, turned the meat a few times to coat it, turned the crockpot on low and ran out the door for work. I planned to be home in 8 hours or so, but got stuck at the office and didn't get home for 11 hours. I thought I was going to have a mess and no dinner. Instead I was greated to the most melt in your mouth london broil ever. The gravy was fabulous! Next time I will double the gravy so I can have leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
FANTASTICALLY EASY! Seriously this is the ONLY recipe that truly takes 5 minutes of prep time. I mean, how long does it take to open up a couple cans of soup and a soup packet? Anyway, I've made this several times using a top sirloin roast and it always comes out tender and falling apart. I cook it on low for 10 hours and I flip the roast over once during cooking. This helps get that dry soup mix into the gravy, others suggest mixing it into the soup first. After making it the first time exactly as the recipe states, I double the canned soup-but not the dry-so there will be extra gravy. I made this for my sister and brother in law and they couldn't believe it was a top sirloin roast (which tends to be a little tough). They loved it. It not only tastes delicious but it is the quickest dinner you will ever make! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I used a frozen top round roast and followed all the directions exactly. It just fell apart when I took it out...it was delicious. I will definitely try using other cream soups, as many have recommended, since I know now that the meat comes out just like we like it. I am so glad that I finally tried this recipe and did not listen to the few bad reviews that it received. Let's get it straight, London Broil is a Cooking Method - NOT a cut of beef!! It is usually either Top Round Steak (or Top Round Roast) or Flank Steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
This was by far one of the best recipes I have ever gotten off this site. I put some ground black pepper on the meat, laid some quartered potatoes on top of it, and then poured the soups over it.. About an hour before it was finished, I added about a half a bag of broccoli/cauliflower/carrot combo veggies. I can't even express how delicious this was. I definitely don't get the few poor reviews this one has gotten, unless it has something to do with the cut of meat. Thanks for a recipe I'll surely use many many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I am fairly new at cooking considering I have only been consistently cooking meals for the past two years. I am still considered a "newlywed" and have a 1-year-old. It's often times hard to find a quick easy recipe that doesn't break the bank with a million ingredients. My husband is getting very tired of having chicken so much, so I have recently started buying more "inexpensive" cuts of red meat. The first time I tried this, I did not have tomato soup (about the only time that's never been in the cupboard!), so I used tomato paste instead and used NY strip steak that I wanted to get rid of. It came out okay, but it wasn't what I hoped. I made it again with the tomato soup and regular flank steak as the recipe calls for, and WOW! I think the best part is the gravy the two soups make to go over mashed potatoes! Wonderful! The meat is good, too, of course. We had relatives come over that night who commented on how great the room smelled, too. Luckily they had eaten, or I would have felt bad for eating such a yummy dinner in front of them! My only complaint is how the recipe says to sprinkle the soup mix on top. I think it should be mixed in, as others have said. I might try adding some Worsch. sauce and some chopped onions to give it a little kick. It's a tad on the salty side, but the potatoes really even it out. What makes it so salty is the onion soup mix, so I only use 1/3 the package. A fantastic recipe that is always on my grocery list, now! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
All I can say is YUM YUM! I added fresh mushrooms, worcestershire sauce, black pepper, fresh garlic and chives. And I seasoned the meat with steak seasoning before putting it in the slow cooker. I cooked it for ten hours, and it was melt-in-the-mouth tender. No need for knives. I served it with potatoes and green beans, and hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
Very good. I put in my flank steak partially frozen and cooked it on low 8 hours; also used low sodium mushroom and tomato soup. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
Easy and delicious tasting. There's nothing to this recipe and the gravy goes so well on mashed potatoes. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States