Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
For those of you that couldn't get your lentils to cook: Adding any acid food such as tomatoes will slow down the cooking time and you'll end up with hard lentils. Add tomatoes after the lentils are nearly cooked through. This should be in the cooking directions. I also added cajun seasoning, onion, garlic, fresh parsley etc. served with corn bread like red beans and rice. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I love lentils and was looking for a little something different to do with them when I happened upon this recipe. Well, lets just say I could not keep my husband from dipping into the crock pot over and over again before it was time for dinner. This was really wonderful! I did make two changes though. Instead of using plain diced tomatoes, I used diced tomatoes with green chilis. I also chopped up a small onion and put it into the mix. I gave this recipe 5 stars because I think it would have been wonderful without the changes I made, we just like our food with a little bit of a "bite" to it. Not only was this meal yummy, but very economical as well. I served with warm crusty bread and a big salad and I was able to feed my family of 5 for under $10.00, with leftovers to boot. Thank you so much, I will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Incredible recipe - easy, fast, tastes great! (but IS filling! :) We like some spice & flavor so I used 1 can of Ro-tel (tomatoes & green chilis) instead of plain tomatoes & did NOT drain the can. I like carrots so I added 3 large ones cut into 1 inch chunks & more celery too - fyi veggies tend to dissolve in slow cookers so the larger pieces do fine with longer/all day cook times. Mine was ready in 5 hrs on high in a crock pot (used small brown lentils). When I am cooking it while at work all day, I'll add large/regular lentils and leave pot on low for 8-9 hours. This recipe is so high in protein & fiber, is easy & inexpensive to make - what more do you need in a recipe?! Thanks a million Tanya! Oops - forgot to say I added 1/2 large onion, chopped, and 2tsp fresh minced garlic! Don't forget it - it makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Excellent! *Easy* way to cook lentils. Strangley, I used a can of rotel since I didn't have a can of tomatos, and added onion and garlic. It was wonderful. Be careful not to overcook and end up with mushy lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
First time with lentils and it turned out very good - I added one garlic clove and one medium size onion. I served it with a shot of red pepper sauce for a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
My husband and toddler are such big fans - I get rave reviews for this simple, no-hassle dish! I added twice as many carrots and celery, as well as onion and a dash of cayenne. I don't have a slow-cooker, but the lowest setting on the stovetop worked just fine! Next time I'll try a little spinach and some spicier sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This was great. I used lowfat kielbasa and was surprised how hearty and satisfying this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was a delicious, satisfying stew, perfect for a fall or winter evening or perhaps for a Boxing Day lunch. The recipe didn't specify red or green lentils. I made it with red lentils, and it was perfect. Even my five-year-old son ate it, and that says a lot. Very quick and easy to make. My crock pot is my new best friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This recipe made me go out and buy a crock pot. I hate making lentils on top of the stove for fear of them drying out or burning if I forget about them. I never thought to try and do it in a crock pot. This was great. I also used fat franks cut in half the 2nd time I made it because family with little kids was coming to visit and it was still a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Very hearty and satisfying but not enough zip for my crew. Will probably add some spices or onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States