Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This recipe made me go out and buy a crock pot. I hate making lentils on top of the stove for fear of them drying out or burning if I forget about them. I never thought to try and do it in a crock pot. This was great. I also used fat franks cut in half the 2nd time I made it because family with little kids was coming to visit and it was still a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
I really love easy recipes that taste great, and this one was easy and it taste great! I followed the recipe to the letter except for the two cans of water. I couldn't get an extra can of water into my slow cooker, but it turned out great anyway. What I loved best about this recipe is that I didn't have to add any seasoning (salt pepper) at all. The sausage did all the work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Very hearty and satisfying but not enough zip for my crew. Will probably add some spices or onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This was great. I used lowfat kielbasa and was surprised how hearty and satisfying this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Excellent! *Easy* way to cook lentils. Strangley, I used a can of rotel since I didn't have a can of tomatos, and added onion and garlic. It was wonderful. Be careful not to overcook and end up with mushy lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Not our favorite. Good but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was a delicious, satisfying stew, perfect for a fall or winter evening or perhaps for a Boxing Day lunch. The recipe didn't specify red or green lentils. I made it with red lentils, and it was perfect. Even my five-year-old son ate it, and that says a lot. Very quick and easy to make. My crock pot is my new best friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
First time with lentils and it turned out very good - I added one garlic clove and one medium size onion. I served it with a shot of red pepper sauce for a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
My husband and toddler are such big fans - I get rave reviews for this simple, no-hassle dish! I added twice as many carrots and celery, as well as onion and a dash of cayenne. I don't have a slow-cooker, but the lowest setting on the stovetop worked just fine! Next time I'll try a little spinach and some spicier sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
A little bland, but good. It makes a lot so I cut the recipe in half. Will probably make again next winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States