Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
My husband and I loved it..but it is not very appetizing to the young ones...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This did not turn out well at all. I couldn't stand the taste of it, to be honest, although my boyfriend seemed to like it. I had to cut back on the water, because my crock pot was almost to the top as it was. So therefore the lentils came out hard and not soft. It basically had no flavour (and I even added my own seasonsing!). Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Wow so much flavour. SLow cooking is the way to go with this kind of dish. It was a great meal for my house full of hungry hockey fans. I followed another reviewers tip about adding acidic foods like tomatos during the last half an hour and every thing ended up great. Served it with some crusty bread and lots of beer.....it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Was expecting a thick lentil soup but it wasn't and that was fine with us. It was tasty and filling anyways.Cooked split dhal lentils for 6 hours with extra celery and carrots.Also used only 1 1/2 lbs of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was really good!! I used the other reviews suggestions and added a can of tomatoes with green chilies, for a kick, also added a whole onion chopped. This had the perfect spices to it! also added some garlic salt! This makes a lot of stew so I am able to freeze half of it and give some to my parents. This is really filling! I served this over some hot cornbread and wow! So amazing! I used a 16 oz bag of brown lentils that it called for but man there was a bunch of lentils! I might use only half next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
we loved this recipe!! I browned the sausage in a frying pan w/ a half an onion (chopped)before adding it to the rest of the ingrediants. I also added 1 beef bouillon cube and a 1/2 teaspoon of a garlic herb seasoning mix that came w/ my bag of lentils. Turned out excellent, even the kids (4 & 3) loved it! I am making it again tonight (I made it for the first time about a week and a half ago) and the whole house smells delicious right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliebelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Found this to be a bit bland and boring. Added a little curry powder & chilli to spice it up a bit. Had no problems with the lentils cooking through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Great Levi-friendly Sunday recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Love it! I did replace the water with more broth. I also doubled the carrots and celery and added a large onion in chunks, and 2 tsp of minced garlic. Instead of kielbasa, I used Spanish Chorizo. I used small brown lentils, and cooked it on low for 7 hours. Turned out great, all my picky boys loved it! You have got to try it! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
So honestly, this recipe was okay the night I made it, but was really good the following day. I will admit it doesn't look pretty, but I don't have kids to worry about. This is a good tasting recipe, especially if you find a good sausage. I used a Jimmy Dean sage sausage, and it had a good flavor. I have just started using my slow cooker, and used a previous suggestion of cooking it on low for 10 hours. Well things were mushy (but still tasted good), I probably would have cooked it on low for 7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielleincanada

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States