Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was really good!! I used the other reviews suggestions and added a can of tomatoes with green chilies, for a kick, also added a whole onion chopped. This had the perfect spices to it! also added some garlic salt! This makes a lot of stew so I am able to freeze half of it and give some to my parents. This is really filling! I served this over some hot cornbread and wow! So amazing! I used a 16 oz bag of brown lentils that it called for but man there was a bunch of lentils! I might use only half next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
we loved this recipe!! I browned the sausage in a frying pan w/ a half an onion (chopped)before adding it to the rest of the ingrediants. I also added 1 beef bouillon cube and a 1/2 teaspoon of a garlic herb seasoning mix that came w/ my bag of lentils. Turned out excellent, even the kids (4 & 3) loved it! I am making it again tonight (I made it for the first time about a week and a half ago) and the whole house smells delicious right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliebelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Found this to be a bit bland and boring. Added a little curry powder & chilli to spice it up a bit. Had no problems with the lentils cooking through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Great Levi-friendly Sunday recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Love it! I did replace the water with more broth. I also doubled the carrots and celery and added a large onion in chunks, and 2 tsp of minced garlic. Instead of kielbasa, I used Spanish Chorizo. I used small brown lentils, and cooked it on low for 7 hours. Turned out great, all my picky boys loved it! You have got to try it! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
So honestly, this recipe was okay the night I made it, but was really good the following day. I will admit it doesn't look pretty, but I don't have kids to worry about. This is a good tasting recipe, especially if you find a good sausage. I used a Jimmy Dean sage sausage, and it had a good flavor. I have just started using my slow cooker, and used a previous suggestion of cooking it on low for 10 hours. Well things were mushy (but still tasted good), I probably would have cooked it on low for 7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielleincanada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Left out the tomatoes. Great recipe! Even picky hubby ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy K

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Holbrook, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was a tremendous disappointment. Virtually inedible. The lentils were not fully cooked even after 7 hours in the crock pot. And the taste was very blah. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Turned out great. I was concerned early on when I sampled it, seemed really salty. But the flavor really pulled together everyone like it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is an easy, tasty, fairly nutritious meal my whole family enjoyed. I added a large chopped onion and a minced clove of garlic. Didn't have celery on hand so used 3 carrots cut into large chunks. Put everything except tomatoes into the crock pot and cooked on high for 2.5 hours, then added tomatoes and cooked on high for another hour. It came out perfect. Kids liked a little dollop of sour cream on theirs. Served with crusty bread and salad. A great busy-day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States