Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Ok Flavor- not a great texture and not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is a very bland recipe. The abundance of sausage and the Campbell's (low salt) beef broth makes the dish very salty. I added garlic and onion and doubled the vegetables, but the dish tastes like salted smoky lentils. This might be good for people who enjoy canned pork and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Good! I cut the lentils and sausage in half and tripled the carrots and celery. Also added a can of mushrooms and plenty of seasonings (crushed red pepper, basil, oregano, bay leaves, garlic). Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I made this recipe using Turkey sausage instead of Polish sausage, in an attempt to make it a little healthier. It turned out pretty well. Instead of cooking the sausage in the crock pot, I pan seared it with onions in a skillet and added it to the mix at the end. I definitely added some extra seasonings and onion to give it more flavor. Overall, it turned out pretty yummy. It made a huge amount though, so unfortunately we will probably get sick of it by having so much leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Kids loved it asked me to make it another night. (4 & 2)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very yummy. Added 1/2 large onion and 1 clove garlic (minced). Tasted even better the 2nd and 3rd days. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa MacGray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
It's going to sound crazy, but my family doesn't really love kielbasa or brats, so I just used ground sausage. I browned it in the skillet and added it to the lentils like you would add ground beef to chili. It was still awesome! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mercyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Choccolocco, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Daye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I left out the celery because I didn't have any and used chicken broth instead of beef. I also used turkey sausage and added in 2 garlic cloves and about 1/2 c diced onions. I cooked it on low for 7 hours and then added a can of Rotel for the last 30 minutes. It was pretty good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
As others have mentioned, the cook time is off. After three hours on high, lentils were still crunchy. Had to cook it for another hour and a half at least. Two pounds of sausage is also a little excessive. I used one pound and even that was a little much. It made the stew greasier than it needed to be. Lentils are plenty hearty on their own and very high in protein. I doesn't need all that sausage. It just gets soggy and spongy after four and a half hours on high anyway. You could use all the same ingredients and cook this recipe on the stove in twenty minutes. I'd fry the sausage in a skillet first, then saute the carrot and celery in the sausage-greased pan along with some onion and garlic, and add all that into the pot with the other remaining ingredients. It would be so much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by don'tcookfromnobook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States