Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was delicious and very easy. I followed others' modifications and added an onion. I also didn't drain the tomatoes. To reduce the calories, I used low fat turkey kielbasa and only put in one pound instead of two. My lentils came out perfect. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Followed directions exactly. Lentils never got soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I made this with my family at homeschool, and I would not change anything about the Lentils and Kielbasa. I think it is really good, and I hope you do also. I had the lentils and kielbasa on September 30, 2010.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
OK this is not completely done yet - but it is oh so good!!! I did what a reader suggested and added tomatoes just now - the lentils are cooked almost all the way through - since this is the first time I'm making this dish, I hope this was a wise decision!! I added some minced garlic and some homemade taco/chili seasoning (can't remember what is in the container!) and it tastes divine!!! I believe it is taco seasoning that I compiled from this site! Adding fresh green beans as a side dish and we are golden for tonight's pre - Father's day/birthday dinner!!! Thank you SORSHA24 for your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I've made this recipe several times and each time it gets better and better! I followed the recipe as written the first time and it was wonderful! If you want a more intense flavor, use Rotel mild or spicy tomatoes, which will definitely enhance the flavor and NO ONE will be able to resist. I've found that any type sausage works especially if you use the Rotel tomatoes. I used turkey sausage and I also slice the sausage and cook it in the microwave for a few minutes before adding to the crock pot. This deceases the amount of fat added to the dish. My husband never had lentils and was not open to trying them until the aroma took him completely away. Now he asks when will I be making this dish again! I think that now I will try to get him to eat Quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Yummy. This is also a good way to use up that summer sausage that you aren't sure what to do with. Also (as someone else mentioned) add the tomatoes once the lentils are done otherwise they don't cook right. I also always remove the strings from my celery for a nicer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is SO good! I almost doubled the veggies, used 1 kielbasa and 2 hot italian sausage, and added hot sauce. next time i'd add even more carrots and onion. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Kids Loved it! I like to use Rotel tomatoes for a little more kick. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very easy. The whole family loved it from kids to Grandpa. A quick inexpensive, tasty meal that I did not alter at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I could take or leave this. It made a lot but I really didn't want to eat it more than twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States