Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Wonderful! An awesome winter meal! I took other's advice and added the tomatoes at the end; it worked great. The only thing I did different was add an onion because my hubby and I love onions. It was so easy too; no precooking anything! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a nice, hearty stew. I used four carrots and only one pound sausage. It's important to add spices (I added cajun and a dash of red pepper) as well as one onion and two cloves garlic. We happened to have some cooked noodles which I threw in and they were great - next time I'd add them to the slow cooker 15 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a good starter. I've been making lentil soup for years. Here are the additions that I use: Fry 4 slices of bacon (cut in half) until crisp. Set bacon aside. Then sauté one onion, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 stalk of celery and 2 sliced carrots in the bacon grease. Put 1 lbs of dry lentils in the crock pot and add 8 cups of ham stock. Add the sautéed vegetables and 2 tbls. of Dijon mustard. Add 2 bay leaves and mix well. Cook on low for 6 hours, then add one can of diced tomato with chiles. Cook for another 2 hours then slice the sausage in even rings and brown for 5 – 8 minutes until browned on both sides (I usually use Polish Kielbasa) and add to the lentils. Just before serving, add a splash of wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great taste... Put the tomatoes in 2 hours before it was done. Lentils came out perfect. Just poured over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was an absolutely delicious recipe! Even my 14 month old daughter ate every bite! I did add a few seasonings: garlic, onion, and some red pepper flakes for an extra kick. However, I did not do this till the last hour. I tasted it before adding it and still loved it, but I thought my husband would like a little more kick. I also used diced tomatoes with garlic and herbs in it as it was what I had. I will definitely make this our go to lentil recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
The texture of the sausage gets a bit odd after sitting in the slow cooker for so long. Having said that, the flavor is great...and I haven't had any problems with the lentils cooking through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was delicious and very easy. I followed others' modifications and added an onion. I also didn't drain the tomatoes. To reduce the calories, I used low fat turkey kielbasa and only put in one pound instead of two. My lentils came out perfect. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Followed directions exactly. Lentils never got soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I made this with my family at homeschool, and I would not change anything about the Lentils and Kielbasa. I think it is really good, and I hope you do also. I had the lentils and kielbasa on September 30, 2010.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
OK this is not completely done yet - but it is oh so good!!! I did what a reader suggested and added tomatoes just now - the lentils are cooked almost all the way through - since this is the first time I'm making this dish, I hope this was a wise decision!! I added some minced garlic and some homemade taco/chili seasoning (can't remember what is in the container!) and it tastes divine!!! I believe it is taco seasoning that I compiled from this site! Adding fresh green beans as a side dish and we are golden for tonight's pre - Father's day/birthday dinner!!! Thank you SORSHA24 for your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States