Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
It was just ok. Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quinton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Nice basic recipe that's easy to put together. Will definitely make this again. I added onion and garlic based on other reviews (though probably would have added them anyway as we love onion and put it in almost everything) and used turkey kielbasa. The beef broth and kielbasa season it perfectly that it doesn't need any additional salt. My picky family member who doesn't like spice loved it and I found it quite good as well, though would maybe sprinkle a couple drops of hot sauce or some Aleppo pepper flakes in my own portion. Three hours on high in my crock didn't seem to cut it though and I had to cook it for about five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I changed a few things- used sirloin tip, added 3 stalks celery, 3 chopped carrots, half a red onion, and various spices. Next time- remember to add garlic, and some hot sauce. Added tomatoes with 2 hours left to cook, took 6 hours total on high (slow cooker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Fabulous! Added Rotel tomatoes in place of diced tomatoes during the last 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Wholesome ! Delicious . A complete meal lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is a delicious and easy recipe. This is our second time making it. I work a late shift so I don't have the time to cook dinner like I used to. This little crockpot has become a dinner saver. The first time followed the recipe to the letter and it was delicious. But it needed a little more flavoring so we added 8 cloves of garlic, an onion, some 7 seasons, and paprika and it was delicous. we are garlic eaters so we use alot of garlic and seasoning thats just our preference but with or without the additions its delicious either way. I also cut down the sausage. I only used one and again thats just our taste preference the meat just got a little much for us. Overall easy and delicous and makes enough to go in lunch for the next day ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I think this was simple, cheap, and delicious. I sauteed up some onion, and added a dash of cayenne to those, and I used veggie broth and turkey sausage because that is what I like. I also used canned tomatoes with peppers, and didn't drain them. It had a really nice kick and was a perfect winter dish. I was happy to eat leftovers for three days. I only gave it a 4 instead of 5 because i think without the added spice it may have been a bit bland, but with these minor changes it was pretty amazing, so it would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
made as is, and it was incredibly bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Quite good and super easy! I took others' suggestions and added the sausage and tomatoes only for the last hour. I also added some chopped onion to begin with. A little salt at the end was all it needed. Too many spices overpower the sausage. It tastes better to leave the lentils more subtle and let the sausage be the strong flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Wonderful! An awesome winter meal! I took other's advice and added the tomatoes at the end; it worked great. The only thing I did different was add an onion because my hubby and I love onions. It was so easy too; no precooking anything! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States