Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is a delicious and easy recipe. This is our second time making it. I work a late shift so I don't have the time to cook dinner like I used to. This little crockpot has become a dinner saver. The first time followed the recipe to the letter and it was delicious. But it needed a little more flavoring so we added 8 cloves of garlic, an onion, some 7 seasons, and paprika and it was delicous. we are garlic eaters so we use alot of garlic and seasoning thats just our preference but with or without the additions its delicious either way. I also cut down the sausage. I only used one and again thats just our taste preference the meat just got a little much for us. Overall easy and delicous and makes enough to go in lunch for the next day ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I think this was simple, cheap, and delicious. I sauteed up some onion, and added a dash of cayenne to those, and I used veggie broth and turkey sausage because that is what I like. I also used canned tomatoes with peppers, and didn't drain them. It had a really nice kick and was a perfect winter dish. I was happy to eat leftovers for three days. I only gave it a 4 instead of 5 because i think without the added spice it may have been a bit bland, but with these minor changes it was pretty amazing, so it would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
made as is, and it was incredibly bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Quite good and super easy! I took others' suggestions and added the sausage and tomatoes only for the last hour. I also added some chopped onion to begin with. A little salt at the end was all it needed. Too many spices overpower the sausage. It tastes better to leave the lentils more subtle and let the sausage be the strong flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Wonderful! An awesome winter meal! I took other's advice and added the tomatoes at the end; it worked great. The only thing I did different was add an onion because my hubby and I love onions. It was so easy too; no precooking anything! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a nice, hearty stew. I used four carrots and only one pound sausage. It's important to add spices (I added cajun and a dash of red pepper) as well as one onion and two cloves garlic. We happened to have some cooked noodles which I threw in and they were great - next time I'd add them to the slow cooker 15 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a good starter. I've been making lentil soup for years. Here are the additions that I use: Fry 4 slices of bacon (cut in half) until crisp. Set bacon aside. Then sauté one onion, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 stalk of celery and 2 sliced carrots in the bacon grease. Put 1 lbs of dry lentils in the crock pot and add 8 cups of ham stock. Add the sautéed vegetables and 2 tbls. of Dijon mustard. Add 2 bay leaves and mix well. Cook on low for 6 hours, then add one can of diced tomato with chiles. Cook for another 2 hours then slice the sausage in even rings and brown for 5 – 8 minutes until browned on both sides (I usually use Polish Kielbasa) and add to the lentils. Just before serving, add a splash of wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great taste... Put the tomatoes in 2 hours before it was done. Lentils came out perfect. Just poured over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was an absolutely delicious recipe! Even my 14 month old daughter ate every bite! I did add a few seasonings: garlic, onion, and some red pepper flakes for an extra kick. However, I did not do this till the last hour. I tasted it before adding it and still loved it, but I thought my husband would like a little more kick. I also used diced tomatoes with garlic and herbs in it as it was what I had. I will definitely make this our go to lentil recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
The texture of the sausage gets a bit odd after sitting in the slow cooker for so long. Having said that, the flavor is great...and I haven't had any problems with the lentils cooking through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States